18
Jan
10

Transition Pains

So last night I skipped my happy ass on down to ICC 10 for another night of raiding and shadowy goodness.  I had just picked up some Nevermelting Ice Crystals, which I lurve, and was testing out a new rotation designed to maximize dps on my constantly refreshing SW:P dot.  Yup, things were certainly looking up for Dueg.

So we get in there and go to work, spanking trash around and making our way deeper into the heart of the frozen citadel.  Things were going ok and I was doing decent dps, though less than all the others.  This is mainly due to me pretty much skipping the ToC completely and still wearing mainly Ulduar/Naxx/Maly 25 gear.  I mean, I’m no slouch or anything, pulling in the range of 4k dps on single targets, but I certainly was lagging compared to the other, better geared raiders.

Still, I didn’t feel so bad, things were cruising and we were actually able to get Festergut down after only four or five attempts, somewhat surprised at how simple the fight seemed.  I was feeling pretty good about myself as I had managed to avoid making myself look like a total noob and registered a decent 3800 dps in the final tally.  Still way in the back, but I felt not too bad for someone who’s only been raid dpsing for a couple of weeks.

Then came Rotface.

Fuck yo couch!

The funny thing is that I’ve heard that this fight is supposed to be the easier of the two and is practically a tank and spank except for occasionally having to move.  This isn’t really a lie so much as a gross understatement.  You see, there’s an occasional mechanic where someone gets a disease and must run out to an off tank kiting adds around the room.  Once the disease fades, a slime will form and start attacking the person who had the disease.

In theory, once two or more slimes get close together, they form into a larger slime that continues to suck up more slimes until it gets so huge that it explodes.  Here’s where things get tricky.  You see, as the slime grows it starts doing aoe damage to everyone around it, but to get the small slime off you, you must be within a certain range of the big slime in order for it to call it over.  This is exacerbated by that fact that pipes around the edge of the room occasionally spit puddles of slime that do damage and snare anyone who steps in them.

So to make a long story short, I died a lot last night, usually before the wipe, but because the little slimes are such little bitches about forming up with the big slime, I also lost a lot of dps.  My dots were constantly falling off and I even registered only a pathetic 2200 dps for one particularly slime filled fight.  Yes, it was a poor showing for Shadow Dueg last night, and one that I hope to never repeat.

But other than this sad spectacle, the transition to dps is going quite well.  I’m beginning to smooth out my rotation, getting a feel for when to cast what and when mind blast comes off its cooldown.  My dps has been slowly rising and hopefully I’ll get caught up in gear soon so I can start making more of a raiding contribution.  Either way though, I’m loving the new guild, the new instance and being part of raiding again.  And I know that next week Rotface is going down like the little bitch he is.

-Dueg


5 Responses to “Transition Pains”


  1. 1 Jez
    01/18/2010 at 11:35 AM

    Rotface is a twat.

    That’s all I have to offer.

  2. 01/18/2010 at 11:41 AM

    MIND SEAR

    (unhelpful comment is unhelpful, but, <3)

  3. 01/18/2010 at 12:31 PM

    Unhelpful? But what about these dozens of pages of notes I have from your comments?!? When will I know to use MIND SEAR over MORE MIND SEAR? Oh god, I’m so confused now!

  4. 01/18/2010 at 9:53 PM

    Rotface is a royal pain, the ooze-combine scripting is flaky at best. And it’s a fight with a sharp learning curve to begin with. But glad to see you raiding and posting!

  5. 04/13/2014 at 7:03 AM

    I have been browsing on-line greater than three hours today, yet
    I by no means discovered any fascinating article like
    yours. It is lovely price enough for me. In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made just right content as you did, the web can be much more helpful than ever before.


Leave a Reply

Posts with the Mosts

Tell me how awesome I am!

Beat the rush and send me an e-mail at: HolyDueg@gmail.com. It's good to have heroes.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

