20
Jan
10

Identity Crisis

Who is this handsome stranger?

Tuesday nights are Delirium’s ICC 10-man nights, which I’ve been making sure to sign up for regularly as I try to gear up to be a little better situated for 25s.  So last night I log on, check the weekly. see that it’s Lord Marrowgar and then notice that there are close to thirty signatures for our ten mans tonight.  Since I’m not an official raiding member and still at initiate status, I get a sinking suspicion I won’t be raiding.

So I stick around either way and the invites go out with everyone who signed up getting picked up into a 27 man raiding group.  There’s some hemming and hawwing over what’s going to be done for the night, whether or not we’re going to raid ICC still or maybe do an older 25 man in order to get others better gear.  During the course of the discussion they mention that it would be nice to have an extra healer.

Now the previous night I had been in a spectacularly fail Ignis raid as a healer, trying to grab last week’s weekly raid before at the last minute.  Sicne there were no other options, I had to go as heals then and even after all the time I was away from the healing train, I was somewhat surprised at how quickly and easily I fell back into the rhythm of it.  So I went ahead and offered up my healing services if it would make things easier to get the groups going.

I didn’t get an exact answer back right away and eventually calls went out for all people below raiding status to roll 100 and the lowes scores would be asked to leave.  I immediately roll a six and prepare to call it a night when I’m told that, as a healer, I have an automatic in and won’t be asked to leave.  So once more I donned my holy hat and made with the life bars.

Things went well the rest of the evening with us coasting through the first wing, only wiping once on Saurfang and even one-shotting Festergut with a textbook attempt.  I was able to go to shadow for two of the fights, so I really filled the role of swing healer/dps where necessary.  At the end of the night I was rewarded with enough new frost emblems from the weekly that I could finally afford my first piece of t10 gear.  But then the indecision set in.

I realized that if I had gone heals this evening, it’s most likely I would have to do so in the future.  Not to mention that as I was healing in ICC 10 (which was surprisingly easy compared to Ulduar), I felt that familiar twinge that came with being a raid healer.  The joy of seeing my power auras popping on and off coldown and my heals critting like nobody’s business was exhilerating again.

But was I ready to stop this crazy shadow experiment?  Could I simply turn away from all the time and gold (and trust me, it was a lot of gold) I had spent optimizing my gear for dps instead of heals?  When I asked our GL, she informed me that they needed heals for ten mans and ranged dps for twenty fives, so either one would be beneficial.  Truth be told, I wasn’t really blowing anyone away with my dps and I was only barely grasping the role as a ranged raider, so it wasn’t like the guild would miss my shadow deeps.

In the end I decided to wait until I had 95 badges so I could upgrade my robe (which definitely needs it), but I’m still a little rattled at how close I came to simply ditching shadow and returning to the raid healing role.  Am I ready to be deeps with that kind of attitude?  For the moment I’m shadow and I’m going to give it a few more weeks still, but I hope to have this decision wrapped up before I get my first t10 piece.

So waddya think, gentle jerkwad?  Should I drop shadow and return to my silly old healing ways?  If there’s anything I learned last night it was that I haven’t really lost a step as far as raid healing goes, and I’m defintiely a better healer than I am dps at the moment.  But then again… pew pew, mofos?

-Dueg

8 Responses to “Identity Crisis”


  1. 01/20/2010 at 11:22 AM

    MIND SEAR.

    But, no, Duegalicious. Cling to your shadow. Love your shadow. For one thing, you often swap between 2 and 3 healers in 10 man content. As people gear up, you’ll use only 2 more and more, so it’ll be good to still have your spot! The “third healer”, that person who can fulfil both roles solidly (or at least not be utter fail at DPS), is an increasingly important role.

    Thzt’s why I haven’t really given up my shadow spec, despite how much I currently fail at it. I am less fail DPS than some of our other healers. XD

  2. 01/20/2010 at 11:48 AM

    Dueg –

    One of my teammates is in the exact same position: former Holy Priest turned Shade. As the heal lead, when I need her to go holy, I understand that she is not going to be as ultra efficient as a full time Holy Priest. But normally, her skill makes up for a lot of the deficiency in her healing gear. And most times, that is sufficient for the raid, whether it be in 10s or 25s. I need a hybrid player to contribute, not carry. There is a big difference.

    I strongly recommend that you upgrade your dps set first. Especially if you are using emblems for purchases. The 251s that drop from 10-man ICC aren’t huge upgrades for most Tier 9 raiders, so you will probably be able to hoover up plenty of healing upgrades there.

    ICC has some really steep dps requirements, and even though you are a hybrid, you need to stay competitive on dps to get that raid invite. Most RLs will take a higher dps, low hps hybrid over the opposite.

    Rock on.

    Vess

  3. 3 Pugnacious Priest
    01/20/2010 at 9:01 PM

    Do what is neccesary to be happy! Easier said then done * says the Shadow Priest that goes holy as often as I need to now to get things done.
    Healing gives me more stuff to complain about…. but yeah you do run the danger of showing how flexible you can become, and the guilt factor.. if you don’t heal we can’t run, :) good luck.. pew pew flash flash but do both when it makes it happy

  4. 01/21/2010 at 4:18 PM

    To be able to do 2 roles competently is very valuable. Keep at it! You may only be tasked to DPS in a raid once in a blue moon because there is a healer shortage… but it will happen.

    I suck at shadow priesting. And when I saw this article I realized why: http://dwarfdk.blogspot.com/2010/01/playing-shadowpriest-how-playing-guitar.html – cause I suck at guitar hero too! It all made sense!

    Are you good at guitar hero? That might be important.

    The article mentions eventhorizon as a mod, which really does help tighten rotation (also check out the video).

    A great article on this from needhealerplz http://needhealerplz.blogspot.com/2009/12/i-can-haz-ansers-10-basic.html shows you how to configure forte for your dot tracking needs.

    You may know all this already :) Also please excuse my lame linking. I didn’t want to try to HTML in the comment box.

  5. 5 Groendell
    01/21/2010 at 4:56 PM

    Keep shadow and do both! Welcome to what my guild refers to as the swinger!

    “You’re so money and you don’t even know it!”

  6. 6 seeprompt
    01/21/2010 at 10:19 PM

    It is common knowledge that hybrid classes are meant to play dual roles as one main and the other off spec. With that said, it would be expected that hybrid class would be better in one role and less in the other. It is Blizzard’s own admission that hybrids will never perform equally well as pure dps class for damage output.

    Someone told me that; “People tend to be happy when they are good at what they do”. Subsequently, some management guru (cannot remember who) said that it is far easier to bring your strengths to excellent and very hard to bring your weakness to mediocre.

    My advice to you is to go holy for “mission critical” raids and shadow for fun like heroics and casual raids.

  7. 01/26/2010 at 3:36 PM

    I agree with everyone else, stay both! Besides, being able to be a Healer part of the time and DPS the other part will really freshen up your play style rather than a grind as either or at one point.

  8. 8 Tyben
    01/27/2010 at 1:44 AM

    Another thought to keep in mind is that disc and shadow share pretty similar gear, making them a very popular main/off spec. combination for priests.


Leave a Reply

Tell me how awesome I am!

Beat the rush and send me an e-mail at: HolyDueg@gmail.com. It's good to have heroes.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

