13
Feb
09

Tools of the Light

Call me butter, baby, cause I’m on a roll.  Three posts in two days?  Didn’t realize how many ideas I had for posts till I started thinking about them.  I’m sure it’ll fade in time and I’ll start stealing ideas from other blogs when no one’s looking, but till then, here we go.

So, last night I posted a wall of text I tried to pass off as a strat for 25 man Razuvious.  At the end I mentioned that it took about 4 wipes until I was truly comfortable and able to get the fight down with no problems whatsoever.  “But Dueg,” you say, “you’re King Shit, how did it take so many tries before you understood the timing of the fight?”  Well, I’ll tell you, gentle jerkwad, if you’ll just stop interrupting me.

The first time I entered as a wide eyed, innocent holy priest with slightly moistened underpants (with little dots of holy light on them!), I was under the assumption that Hit rating is for chumps.  Who gives a crap about landing lolsmite on bosses, I got people to heal!  Outta my way, Loatheb, that tank needs a Prayer of Mending!  Suck it, Maexxna, your web wraps ain’t got shit on my renews and bubbles!  Oh, Hello Death Knight Understudy, I’ll just go ahead and cast Mind Con… uh oh.

You see, Mind Control periodically runs a check to see if it’s going to continue holding during casting time.  It does this by checking your hit rating against the mobs level.  If your hit rating is a goose egg like mine was the first few times, then your MC spell will morph into a deadly version of Sex Panther.  Sixty percent of the time, it breaks every time.  If it breaks right after you taunted and the other priest is still on his cool down then people in the raid are going to die, which would be ok, but eventually you’re going to die too.  Unacceptable.

So, to counter this, you need to raise your hit rating.  If you scroll over the number in your stats, a small window will pop up showing you your percentage chance to hit.  For this fight you want that number to be 6% (or 157.39 total hit rating) in order to ensure that your MC won’t break early.  Therefore, in the interest of being able to get this done, I’ll give you some tips on what I did to get my hit rating up.  At level 80, there should be no reason not to be able to hit 6% hit rating for these mobs.

So, if you’re like me, you turned your nose up at hit rating while leveling.  “Off Spec?  What’s that?  Holy for life, bitches!  Take that shit and throw it in the garbage for all I care!” was my attitude until of a sudden it became “Hit rating?  Yes, please!”  But I didn’t feel like doing the dungeon crawling necessary to pick up the items.  Especially if it meant cheating someone else who could possibly use it just so the item could rot in my bag until I needed it for all of a 3 minute fight.  So, after some quick research, I found these two rep items for a quick and easy hit bonus:

Sash of the Wizened Wyrm – This bad boy comes from the Wyrmrest Accord faction once you hit honored with them.  It’ll give you a 1.52% hit rating bonus.

Dark Soldier Cape – This cape is sold by the Knights of the Ebon Blade quartermaster and will provide another 1.11% bonus to hit.

Buying both of these items will set you back about 35g, so not too shabby for blue quality items.  Once you got these, then swing by your local Auction House and pick yourself up some Snapper Extreme and an Elixir of Accuracyfor an additional 85 total hit rating (or 2.89% at 80).  This leaves you sitting at 5.52%, which should hopefully be close enough for a breakless MC spell.

Now, another option if you’re like me and pretty much ran dungeons through most of 70 through 80, is that there’s still a plethora of quests out there somewhere.  My recommendation if this is the case is to simply pick a zone, fly to the largest quest hubs and just start doing them.  After a couple of hours of this I had picked up enough gear to hit 6% without consumables and about 100g in quest rewards, so it was a win-win there.  A nice thing about this method is that you can take the pressure off of your pocketbook and not have to worry about potions and foodstuffs.

And now a word from our sponsor*.  Tired of being pwned?  Done with being called a newb when in heroics and raids?  Wish that someone would just tell you when that dragon’s going to fly up and start spitting white hot death at you?  Then run, don’t levitate, to your nearest mod site and pick up Deadly Boss Mods!  This mod gives you timers, cool downs and general important information on all bosses, raid or dungeon, for WotLK.  This is especially important for Raz because it will display the cool down timer left on your taunt and bone shield and the timer of your priestly partner so you can make sure to accurately hit bone shield and taunt when needed.  If you’re serious about raiding, please pick it up.  It won’t automatically make you win sauce, but it will give you a huge push in that direction.

So there you go, Raz in two huge posts.  As always, any additional tips or corrections or generally flippantry, please feel free to put a post down in comments, and til next time, gentle jerkwads, stay safe out there.

-Dueg

*Deadly Boss Mods not a sponsor


1 Response to “Tools of the Light”


  1. 1 MellaDrama
    02/13/2009 at 11:28 PM

    Dueg is the best Raz MC’er I ever knew.


Leave a comment


Tell me how awesome I am!

Beat the rush and send me an e-mail at: HolyDueg@gmail.com. It's good to have heroes.