18
Feb
09

Ghostcrawler speaks, and Thou shall listen

Well, it seems Ghostcrawler has shown up to clear the air and try to get the healing community to stop wetting their robes regarding the upcoming change to Spirit andOO5SR mana regen.  You can read his full post here.  I linked it to page 15 where he covers the relevant info, but he has peppered this whole thread with information regarding the changes.

So here’s the gist of it, if I’m getting what I’m reading: Spirit is not getting a nerf per se.  What they’re actually changing is the formula that crunches the number and spits out your final regen amount, but not Spirit or Int’s actual contribution to that number.  The final goal is to have an OO5SR number that will be cut by 40% of what it is now.

That number looks really big, but the idea here is to try and equalize the classes.  As one poster notes on the forums which GC quotes, all the healing classes were more or less equal inside the rule, but once they paused for whatever reason, druids and holy priests, which are spirit heavy classes, would all of a sudden spike mana regen, usually beating the closest competitors by upwards of 500 per 5.  It didn’t make us OP or anything, but it’s a case of balance and the devs, who are apparently happy with how shaman regen works, wanted to bring us more in line with other healers.

So where are we now?  Well, Meditation will be raised to a 50% bonus in order to counteract the changes.  I know this means that I’ll go from 795 regen OO5 (that’s minus the contribution from mp5 items) to  477 which means I’ll be at 239 regen I5 (rounded up from 238.5).  Add up my mp5 item’s contributions and my new I5SR amount is… 324, which is up 1 from 323… well played Blizzard.  Of course, this all depends on whether or not the numbers GC laid on us are the final numbers implemented.  Plus the 40% reduction might just be an approximation and you might see it end up a little higher or lower.

Prediction:  Raids will slow down because of this new rule.  A lot of healers used to just regen on the fly.  If you you ran low on mana you could afford to just follow the raid and not heal for a few minutes which used to bring druids and priests to full in a couple of minutes.  This nerf will change that though and you’ll see raiders calling for more pit breaks so they can fill up their tanks again.  No matter how it goes down though, this is certainly not the “to the ground” a lot of people were expecting and hopefully they’ll get it done without any unforeseen problems cropping up… I just wouldn’t hold my breath.

-Dueg

7 Responses to “Ghostcrawler speaks, and Thou shall listen”


  1. 1 Anea
    02/19/2009 at 1:18 AM

    Well. I do hope that it does turn out alright and won’t be the “the sky is falling” thing that everyone makes it out to be. Of course, I don’t want my precious regen messed with but… *shrugs* What can I do?

  2. 02/19/2009 at 4:42 AM

    If im being honest it doesnt bother me that much and as someone who swaps between shadow and discipline 50% meditation is pretty amazing.

    Unfortunatly blizzard do these changes and we just need to roll with it.

    Hope it doesnt effect holy priests too much as they need some loving in my opinion and not anything else that is going to gimp them more.

  3. 02/19/2009 at 8:38 AM

    Well, holy priests are going to see some loving in 3.1 with buffs to both prayer of healing and circle of healing. Personally, I can see why they did this. It’s not a case of classes being actually overpowered, but being perceived as such.

    Blizzard wants every class to have an equal chance of joining a raid and if someone passes up a shaman over a priest because they think the priest will never ever run out of mana no matter what, well that’s pretty crappy for the shaman.

  4. 02/19/2009 at 12:03 PM

    Personally I’m worried about them nerfing Disc regen after this. We’re already absurdly op with mana, this will just buff it more. I don’t want to sit at 100% mana all the time just to get a big nerf later because they overlooked it. I’m very attached to my Rapture returns.

  5. 02/19/2009 at 12:13 PM

    The more I’m reading though, it truly seems as though this nerf is aimed at holy priests and resto druids with a slight smack to holy pallies. Disc tree is supposed to be uber mana efficient and it really seems like Blizzard is ok with that. If they were to examine it, I would expect to see a nerf to either Rapture or Mental Strength in order to lessen the return you get on it. I can’t imagine them doing too much other than that without having half the priest community burning their building to the ground.

  6. 6 Scrat!
    02/22/2009 at 3:55 AM

    Welcome to my mp5 stacked life bitches.

  7. 7 Mike
    03/15/2009 at 11:29 PM

    This is a joke, one of the most fun things on my priest was stacking a balanced amount of healing / int / crit and spirit to get out of the fsr and stay out of it long enough to get a bit of mana back so i could continue healing. Thanx for ruining another great aspect of the game, If I wanted to have mana regen like a shaman…then i would have rolled a shaman… ghostcrawlers and idiot


Leave a Reply

Posts with the Mosts

Tell me how awesome I am!

Beat the rush and send me an e-mail at: HolyDueg@gmail.com. It's good to have heroes.

