09
Mar
09

My name’s Dueg and I made joke, I PvPed right in your Coke

So let me start this by saying that I hate PvP.  A lot.  I’ve never been a fan of BGs nor do I particularly enjoy getting ganked while trying to do my dailies, but that’s neither here nor there.  For some people PvP is a daily occurrence on WoW.  It’s a goal that people will actively pursue  and try to accomplish for reasons ranging from gear to just the plain old thrill of the fight.  But why?

Dueg's PvP form.

Dueg's PvP form.

Now I’ve always had my chars on PvP realms.  Not because of prejudice against “care bear” realms or anything like that, but because I feel that it helps to submerge you even more into the game.  I have no problem with ganking and feel that it adds a small bit of danger and fun to the game.  I myself even occasionally partake in it if I stumble across a lowbie and feel like wasting a minute.  Plus /dancing on their corpses is hilarious every time.

Griefing, on the other hand, is unacceptable as far as I’m concerned.  I find the idea of standing over someone, waiting for them to come back just so you can kill them a rather despicable act.  The fact of the matter is that there’s someone at the other end who is pretty much having their entire evening ruined just because you’re bored and feel like killing 30 minutes or so standing in the same spot.  Congratulations, dick, you’ve just one shotted someone who never stood a chance for the tenth time in a row!  But why are you so hollow still?

But I digress, as a priest doing my priest thing I have run a few battlegrounds in the past.  Back in BC, I pretty much skipped the end game content including heroics and raids.  So my only option for obtaining epics was to run the battlegrounds and try to accrue enough points to pick up a new mace or maybe a sweet off hand item.  Yes, it’s true, Dueg was on welfare.

But even as a hybrid specced priest with some of the survivability involved in the disc tree combined with the healing powers of the healing tree, I found myself getting whomped fairly regularly.  You see, for a healer BGs can be especially rough.  Instead of damage done, or number of kills made or how many nodes captured, we enjoy seeing our names rise up on the (surprise surprise) healing meter.  However, as soon as we get a heal off, a huge target appears over our head that says, “Hey!  I enjoy death, please to pwn me to ground, kkthxbai.”  No seriously, it actually says that.

As a holy priest, your survivability tanks horribly.  Some would say that the obvious thing is to just respecc as disc if you want to PvP with a priest, which is fine and all, but then it can interfere with raiding schedules and hurt the pocket book if you’re constantly respeccing.  With dual specs on the horizon this will lessen even more with people able to switch on a moment’s notice.  However, as a healer, I don’t enjoy shielding myself and then spamming flash heal just to stay alive long enough for someone else to come and pull the attacker off of me.  Besides, that only works about half the time.

Now I haven’t mentioned arena and I’m not going to because I feel that’s almost a different sort of PvP.  There’s in depth strategy involved and it takes an entirely different breed of WoW player to do it.  Being the healer in an arena match is a compeltely different prospect than being one in BGs and is less a test of your healing abilities and more of whether or not you can master the strategies of fighting certain classes and think quickly on your feet.  Survivability is still an issue, but with the right combination of abilities, spells and talents coupled with quick reflexes, you can overcome a slight deficiency due to it being a bit more of a fair match in numbers.

Blizzard has stated that they’re looking to make Holy priests more survivable and there’s even some sign of this with a new talent being tested on the PTR.  Called Body and Soul, basically at full strength the talent gives the target of your PW:S a 60% speed boost and your Abolish Disease will have a 50% chance to cure a poison effect when cast on yourself.   I find it somewhat insulting that Blizzard’s idea of upping our survivability is to give us a better opportunity to run away, but what’re you gonna do?  Also, with only a 50% chance to cure poison, this talent is fairly useless and I would be very surprised if it goes live as is if they don’t pull it altogether.

So I turn to you, gentle jerkwad, and ask your opinion on this matter.  As a healer, do you find pvp annoying?  I understand that strategy dictates that we should be the first to go, but does that kill the fun for your own experience?  Maybe you are an arena buff and spend hours reading strats and even more time talking with your team mates and coordinating movement and tactics.  Do you  switch specs for PvP and raiding or just do it to it without a care for min/maxing?  Drop me a comment and let me know.

-Dueg

9 Responses to “My name’s Dueg and I made joke, I PvPed right in your Coke”


  1. 03/09/2009 at 11:18 AM

    PvP = rogues kill me repeatedly.

    It’s not something I do alone, ever, because no one in a random PvP group seems to think it’s a good idea to try to save the one or two healers they have.

    Even with friends to (try to) save me, though, it’s an exercise in frustration. And that’s as a holy pally.

  2. 03/09/2009 at 11:44 AM

    I really enjoyed PVP when I played my druid. I know, I know, the stereotype of faceroll-lifebloom-spam. But I could heal in arenas and in BGs and I was difficult to kill, as, in my opinion, a healer should be. As a priest — whether shadow or (PVE-specced) disc — I have zero survivability. Certain classes seem so insanely powerful right now — DKs and Paladins, namely — that they can pretty much one-shot me.

    I leveled on a PVP server, but I had to transfer because the Horde outnumbered Alliance almost 4:1 and it was impossible to do anything — dailies, instances, questing. Like you, I understand ganking. It can be annoying, but it’s par-for-the-course. The non-stop griefing on Maelstrom, however, made things unbearable.

    I like a good fight. But right now, it doesn’t feel like there’s much of a good fight to be had. I know I’m a decent player but there is absolutely nothing I can do against certain classes. “Bring the player” my ass.

  3. 3 Jov
    03/09/2009 at 3:31 PM

    *avoids PVP like the plague*

  4. 03/09/2009 at 3:42 PM

    OHNOES. Not teh Welfare Epix!

    sigh. oh how I remember farming honor for that stupid mace.

    I play on a PvP server, and while I’m not HUGE fan of PvP, all my friends were on Dunemaul, so there I rolled. I do Arenas but not seriously, just the oh my friends want arena points and need someone to attempt to keep them alive. Right now in my PvE spec, PvP is really hard. I’m looking forward to Dual Specs to have my PvP Disc as my back up. The ganking is really bad on my server right now, as PvP/Arenas are a HUGE thing, so it’s hard to attempt to quest with 0 resil or you are just asking to get camped.

    Though there was that one failrogue that ran away because he thought he could kill me. Um, Mr. Fresh 80 rogue? Yeah trying to beat on someone that’s in full 25man, t7.5 gear is probably not a good idea. Especially when said person has a firm grasp of FearBomb, Bubble Heal, Pennance.

  5. 5 Scrat!
    03/09/2009 at 5:17 PM

    Resil is everything, in decent resil, I’m almost unkillable.

    But that’s just shaman talk, dunno what’s wrong with you priests.

    Get a job.

  6. 6 Anea
    03/09/2009 at 6:38 PM

    I avoid PvP at all costs. I had a stint on a PvP server ’cause I wanted to be a “real priest” and level despite the adversity and I made it to about 40, I think. Then I just got sick of it. So, I understand that on a PvP server it’s par for the course, but I’m a “carebear” as you all like to say, so I stay on my PvE server and level/quest in peace.

    If Lus drags me into it, I will run a bg or two (and did arena for a few matches, I wrote about that) but I will do that only if he drags me into it, because like you said, strategy calls for our deaths first and it’s just frustrating to me.

    So, I just stay away from it. To each their own, I say.

  7. 03/10/2009 at 9:29 AM

    As a pally healer…PvP sucks!!! I’m constantly getting targeted, unless the Horde are just idiots, which luckily happened once last night! Woohoo! But generally I hate PvP as well.

    Actually I’m only doing PvP for something to do and keep from being totally bored as well as for rep in Arathi Basin and Warsong Gulch. I’ve become a rep achievement monger. Two more exalteds and I get the 40 rep achievement.

    As for dual specs, I’ll probably go pvp-ret just to be viable.

  8. 8 pugnaciouspriest
    03/10/2009 at 9:50 AM

    Kill the healer! – Enough said… its tactically sounder, though trying to kill some restro druids takes 5 mins, after pounding on them for 5 x their health bar value in damage, you realise they aren’t going down, and so you mana drain them.
    I done some healing on my priest in Bg’s – I find it to be a rather choatic affair, its harder to make targeted decisions, eg that person is more important, heal them 1st, its more a matter of healing who ever is taking damage – and no one seems to notice that your healing untill they are dead and are yelling ” They have more healers then us…” or why didn’t you Heal noob ( to the shadow priest in shadow form)
    You don’t get protected by the team, or backed up by other healers, there is certainly less healers in a Bg normally, no healing assignments, and healers often end up babysitting a flag – and yes.. as a DPS class i do sheild and heal myself as often as possible, and even try and proc replinshment for mana regen for the healers that are in my Bg raid group/

  9. 9 Jack
    03/16/2009 at 9:47 AM

    The first few times I played battlegrounds I hated them. I went into the level 19 bracket of WSG with 400 health on my level 17 fury warrior, and of course just got pwn’d left and right. Tried it a couple of times, figured out what gearing up meant and decided I’d just leave teh BGs to teh twinks.

    Until I started playing with a group of local buddies, trying to level up at roughly the same pace to run instances together. I found myself playing a resto druid, at level 39, a couple levels ahead of the group. So just to kill time one day, I jumped into a round of Arathi Basin.

    It was beautiful. I think I was the only alliance healer on the field. Everyone loved me. They needed me. It was just like healing instances, but the recipients whispered back . . . and they yelled back . . . enthusiastic appreciation for me doing what it is I do as a healer.

    Yeah, sure . . . the horde would see leafy goodness swirling around my teammate and instantly retarget to me. It’s true that my survivability was directly related to how well I could shapeshift between travel form (escape melee now!) and bear form (break movement impairing effects). But man. The effect timely heals have on such close fights was so tangible! With practice, I’ve gotten pretty good at running away. lol sounds like a joke. I know. But what it means is kiting the other side in circles while hunters keep fire on them and getting back to heal when they stop trying to catch me.

    But the point is, yeah, I like healing in the battlegrounds. In fact, I didn’t like the battlegrounds at all until I tried them as a healer. I’ve gotten better at the gear thing as I’ve learned to play the game. I’ll do BGs in any role now and I like them better now. But I still like doing BGs best as a healer.


Leave a Reply

Posts with the Mosts

Tell me how awesome I am!

Beat the rush and send me an e-mail at: HolyDueg@gmail.com. It's good to have heroes.

