19
Mar
09

I’d say my biggest problem is that I’m too awesome

Pictured: Perfection

Pictured: Perfection

So last night the guild once more made a foray into Naxx 25.  For the past couple of weeks, we’ve been on a pretty intense recruitment blitz and have been foregoing our usual plan of Naxx till 25 log on, then Sarth 3D.  We’re in somewhat of a transition phase, trying to get to the point where we regularly have 25 raiders on.  So last night we brought about 5 or 6 apps with us, mainly from a smaller guild that we’re looking to absorb.

Things got off on somewhat of a bad foot.  We started with Military wing because we weren’t sure how long the second priest would be able to stay on (her connection can be somewhat whonky).  We put Raz down eazy peazy and moved on to Gothik, but then began to have problems from there.  We have recently restructured and had some officer promotions and demotions based solely on raid availability.  No feelings were hurt or guild drama or anything, but the end result is new officers who need to learn how to use our DKP system.

Apparently the moderator version of our DKP mod is a little difficult to figure out from the officer end.  As a result we had to wait about 20 minutes to pull Gothik after we arrived in his room.  Yeah, not pleasant.  With no more issues we were able to move through Military Wing with no more issues and went to Construct next.  And here’s where I almost lost my shit.

Anyone who’s been in in Naxx is aware of the slimes in Construct and how you’re not supposed to stand in melee.  Another good idea is to not body pull the row of abominations right outside the room if you can avoid it.  For some reason a few people decided to do both at the same time.  Things got quite interesting, oh yes.  After about 10 to 15 minutes we were able to pull it out, rez the dead and get back on track, no wipe.  We then settled down, put our noses to the grindstone and still finished a full clear in about 3 and a half hours, picking up the Arachnophobia achievement for those who still needed it.

But the whole debacle at the beginning of the raid got me thinking.  It reminded me very much of my own personal journey on my way to becoming the uber awesome raider that I am today.  When I first entered Naxx I was completely and totally clueless, a total newblett.  My first time through I had just barely specced to holy and was not familiar with the nuances of the spec.  I used flash heal almost exclusively, ran out of mana constantly and basically did a whole lot of sucking and dieing.

I’ll give you a rundown of my first time in Naxx.  As I’ve said before, I had run a few heroics and had decent gear for starting Naxx when I was invited to the guild and summoned in pretty much right away.  I was so very extremely nervous for it all.  I was only able to stay for Plague and part of Military wing and it was quite the experience.  In Plague I managed to fail at dancing on the first splash by standing to far in the middle even though everyone else was behind me.  I failed at the gauntlet by getting stuck next to one of those pots and somehow forgetting how to use my jump button.  I killed myself at Loatheb because I didn’t realize that PoM and Renew will still tick for damage after you’ve cast them and not just initially.  I couldn’t do Raz to save my life, resulting in five wipes in a row.  And finally I got killed on the way to Gothik and then when I came back, I actually got lost like a moron, going down the wrong wing twice before just giving up and begging the warlock for a summon.  I was extremely surprised they didn’t kick me right away as it must have appeared I couldn’t tell my ass from left.

I won’t even go into how scary stupid I was for our first few Malygos and Sarth kills, but needless to say, it was scary.  Since then, however, I’ve managed to stop being a drooling imbecile and have worked myself into what I can only hope is a competant raider.  But it took time and a few weeks of failing.  No one ever starts out being the shit, there’s always going to be newb moments and all you can do is put your head to the wall and push, otherwise you’ll just stand in the same spot.

So I ask you, gentle jerkwads, what was your biggest “dur” moment when starting out raiding?  Don’t be afraid to post in the comments no matter how dumb you may think it was, cause public ridicule is just fun.  And at least it can’t be as bad as running all the way through Plague Wing then halfway through Construct while the other priest is Mind Visioning you and you’re being described as “on another fucking planet” before having to ask for a summon.  And if it is, hey, at least you’ll make me feel better and in the end, isn’t that what it’s really all about?

-Dueg

12 Responses to “I’d say my biggest problem is that I’m too awesome”


  1. 03/19/2009 at 9:39 AM

    Well before my guild was raiding in BC, we just had our top people getting together for heroics once in a while. I remember nearly losing my shit when they first asked me to come along on one. It was Underbog. I’d never even done it on normal. So we went in, killed the first boss, got a server restart right after and decided to come back later. The next night we were just about to the second boss… and I run out of ammo. Though at least it happened BEFORE the second boss, because after him there’s a jump down where you can’t go back out of the instance without hearthing. It became a running gag, laugh at Jezi’s noob mistake and move on.

    And a couple weeks ago, I’d installed a bunch of new UI mods without checking out how they worked first. Turns out that they somehow made my repair-alert paper doll disappear, and thus I had no idea where my durability was on anything.

    Cue Malygos.

    We’re in the middle of phase 1 after an embarrassing wipe, doing pretty well, I’m pewpewing to my heart’s content…

    “Must have a Ranged Weapon equipped.”

    Yeah we didn’t so much laugh at Jezi’s noob mistake and move on that time. <_<

  2. 03/19/2009 at 9:45 AM

    “Tank the beams!!” “What? How do you tank a beam??”

  3. 03/19/2009 at 9:48 AM

    Not so much with raiding, but in BC heroics. Switched to Holy and in order to keep up mana I would judge wisdom and fight getting myself and the party killed in the process. Didn’t know what else to do…

    /hangs head in shame

  4. 03/19/2009 at 10:24 AM

    My first time in Naxx I fell off the side of that pipe you stand on before Gluth while the whole raid was watching. Of course that meant I had to run all the way back up there and of course I died to the frogger slimes on the way so they had to send someone to come and rez me.

    I also didn’t realize there was a big gap below on the jump from the platforms to Thaddius, so I fell there too. Ever since then I’ve used levitate on myself. 🙂

  5. 03/19/2009 at 10:37 AM

    In BC I would tank trash in my DPS gear and change into my tanking gear for bosses… when I remembered to. These days that’s fine, but in BC, Druids actually needed to be defense capped via their gear. Megalis is tanking boss, Megalis sees big number on scrolling battle text. On the incoming side.

    “Hey guys? Can I get an extra healer over here?”
    “In your cat gear again?”
    “…”

    Newest favorite: Accidentally hitting my auto run key while tanking Thaddius.

  6. 03/19/2009 at 10:41 AM

    Hmm, fuckups… *turns red*
    I remember I failed when I was a trial on the explosion at TK (that belf voidy) but only once. Ow when I was the healing assigner I did once went melee on that add that has to be kited (Kt fight in TK). Ahh… I survived a hit thou and then he changed direction. (/flex… not rlly). You know, I mostly fuckup if I don’t know the fight or if I’m bored (melee KT ftw!)
    + ofcourse the usual deaths now and then after patchwerk (only once a month thou! doing 2 naxx runs a week ^^)

    Other then that I have more outgame related fails then ingame (watch my blog if you want 1 of the epic fails, lets say it involves teamspeak and music…) 😉

  7. 7 oriniwen
    03/19/2009 at 10:53 AM

    I blame all of my failures on my pets. Putting the pet on ‘aggresive’ for Gothik and then not putting him back to ‘passive’ for the hallway to 4H is a good example.

    Landing a zomg HUUUGE trinketed, cooldown blowed panic heal on my hippogryph hatchling instead of the (now dead) tank is a good one too.

  8. 03/19/2009 at 11:01 AM

    I already mock myself enough on my own blog! Do I have to expose my dumb here, too?

    😛

    I remember when I first started raided, I knew NOTHING about what stats I was supposed to have-thank god Judgement was a whole set, you know? Here, this is the gear you want, take it. None of this BiS shit. Here is ONE weapon for you, take it.

    I cast Holy Light all the time and went OOM left and right until I thought that maybe, just maybe, the other heal was a smidge better sometimes. Ah, the times of noobishness. Thank god BWL was pretty much a straight line.

  9. 9 D
    03/19/2009 at 12:37 PM

    I’m with Daria – my first time into Naxx was in Naxx 25, where I was the pug (it was a raiding guild’s run, they just needed to fill a few slots). Got onto the pipe on the way to Gluth, fell down, ran back around, died at Frogger, someone rezzed me, I ran back to the pipe … and fell off again. The worst was the “idiot” remarks in Vent.

    Oh, and the fact that I was only doing about 2200dps on Thaddius, and some of the guildies were saying very vocally that we couldn’t do it with anyone doing under 2500dps, and that really, everyone should be hitting at least 3000dps on Thaddius (they’re right, in hindsight, but I didn’t realize why back then). Much posting of Recount in the raid chat made me realize that either I was too noobish to raid, still, or they were just a guild full of assholes.

  10. 10 Melissa
    03/19/2009 at 1:30 PM

    During a bio break before a boss fight, I was trying to link “divine intervention” in my chat log as a raid member didn’t know what it did. You can see where this is going, can’t you? I killed myself.

  11. 11 Tigerfeet
    03/19/2009 at 2:06 PM

    Back in BC, after I’d earned my guild’s trust, they asked me to tank the Lurker Below.

    I forgot to shift into Bear form.

    Needless to say I was Fish Feast.

  12. 12 Kitts the Priest
    03/19/2009 at 6:58 PM

    Biggest “dur” moment came in Molten Core, pre-BC… was told there was a quest behind one of the bosses in a big flaming mark on the wall.

    /derp


Leave a Reply

Posts with the Mosts

Tell me how awesome I am!

Beat the rush and send me an e-mail at: HolyDueg@gmail.com. It's good to have heroes.

