22
Mar
09

The Sunday Cop-out, Wherein a Game is Invented

So anyone who’s been reading the Egotistical Priest knows she recently had a post regarding the fact that Glyph of Levitate is most likely the most awesome glyph ever.  I know that I pretty much consider myself with only two minor glyph slots because I will never, ever go back to having to carry around effin feathers.  Besides, birds are just covered in bacteria.  It’s true, just ask anyone’s mother.

But one of the great things about having levitate at will is that it allows to use it in situations where you might have forgone it altogether before when you needed a reagent.  Such as elevators, I hate waiting for that crap.  So I started just jumping off and hitting levitate and found a most interesting thing.  When you have auto dismount when casting on and hit levitate while jumping off, you continue moving at the rate you moved when mounted.  Of course you’re moving in a straight line and can’t adjust or anything, but all you need is a running start and you’ll be zooming.  Allow me to demonstrate:

Starting point

Starting point

Map Check

Map Check

And then… I FLY!

Booooorn Freeeeee...

Booooorn Freeeeee...

...Freeeee as a Biiiiiird

...Freeeee as a Biiiiiird

Think I got around a full minute of air time, I prolly shoulda set the timer.  Anyways, here are the end points:

Landing Successful

Landing Successful

Map Check

Map Check

And that’s it, really, just a nice simple glide.  This isn’t the farthest I’ve gone, just an example I decided to use.  I’m also pretty sure I’m not the first person to think of this, but I haven’t seen anyone else post blogs about it, so I call inventor!  Boo ya!  The only rule is that you can’t use a flying mount to get your momentum, because I don’t have an epic one, so there.  

Anyways, in a final piece of news, I recently switched back to holy spec thank goodness as we have a bunch of apps right now and are trying to get them situated and properly geared before we go back to Sarth 3D attempts.  That’s why you see me carrying my new piranha plant mace and spider off hand.  I lub them both so much.

-Dueg

5 Responses to “The Sunday Cop-out, Wherein a Game is Invented”


  1. 1 Anea
    03/22/2009 at 3:57 PM

    Hm – I don’t know that I’ve tried base jumping specifically to get the mounted speed bonus. I should try to see exactly how far I could go… *tries to think of the highest point in Northrend*

  2. 2 pugnaciouspriest
    03/22/2009 at 9:28 PM

    I leviatate from Bouldercrags refuge into the snowdrift plains in the Storm peaks and end up falling of the edge. I just keep missing a landable ledge..
    Eventually I landed in water, and mounted while levitated and flew back up to saftey

  3. 3 Chibikeni
    03/23/2009 at 2:15 AM

    You just reminded me of that quest in Howling Fjord where you meditate and defeat your evil half, having that ‘Slow Fall’ spell afterwards which I’ve used it to glide back to the the nearby Horde camp. Landed at the lake nearby though >.>

  4. 4 Scrat!
    03/23/2009 at 3:21 AM

    i call it a dueg hole

  5. 5 Juzaba
    03/23/2009 at 10:05 AM

    You can have a lot of fun on the platforms around the Nexus using this technique. And there are some cool screencaps to take while levitating inside the massive magic jet at the center of the construct-building-edifice thing.


Leave a Reply

Posts with the Mosts

Tell me how awesome I am!

Beat the rush and send me an e-mail at: HolyDueg@gmail.com. It's good to have heroes.

