05
Apr
09

The Sunday Cop-out, Wherein Dueg Wonders if He’s kind of a Dick

So yesterday I logged on in the afternoon and decided to take a swing at selling one of the BoE bracers in Dalaran since I have over a hundred Valor badges and could use the extra scratch.  For anyone not familiar, there are about 6 or so epic bracers that you can purchase from the Badge of Valor vendor and give to anyone.  People will offer to sell you your choice of them if they don’t have better uses for their Valor badges (which I don’t).  The last time I spoke to someone about it, they recommended selling them for about 2k, so I made up a macro, went and stood in the vendor’s room and started spamming while watching some movies and eating Goldfish crackers.

The Perfect Companion

The Perfect Companion

So after maybe twenty minutes or so, I see this in trade: “Dueg, you’ll never get that much for them.”  Now look, I absolutely hate it when people do that kind of crap in trade.  It undermines the seller and quite frankly, it’s none of their business if the seller wants to sell it for too high.  So I write in trade “Let me worry about that.”  A little curt, yes, but the point being, I acknowledged that you gave me the suggestion, but I’m going to keep doing what I’m doing.  So I consider the issue closed and go back to business when about 3 minutes later I get a tell from the same guy.

“Those usually sell for 1.5k, you should lower your price,” he says.  So I shoot back with, “Don’t worry about it.”  Again, curt, but this guys is starting to bother me.  So he comes back with something along the lines of, “Whatever, do what you want and spend a couple of extra hours trying to sell it.”  So I say, “I will, thank you for minding your own business.”  Oh Dueg, why must you be so antagonistic?

So now this guy is getting a little heated and he comes back with some speech about how he was just trying to help, but I’m more interested in cheating people and am a failboat because I’m asking for more money than is commonly accepted these bracers are worth.  Also he suggested that I should be grateful that he gave me this little speech in tells instead of in trade.  At this point I’m really starting to get pissed.  I didn’t ask this guy for his suggestions or his critique of my selling style or anything like that.  So I send him a tell back saying that he’s not trying to “help,” he’s trying to tell me how to do it, and that I know it’s a high amount, but I’m hoping to negotiate with whoever wants to buy it and it’s better to start high and work lower.  This wasn’t my original plan, but it sounded good at the time and I wanted to get this guy off my back.

So he sends a tell saying maybe I should start a little lower since they’ve been dropping in price and 2k is maybe a little too high of a starting point and apologizes if I was offended.  I responded that I would see how it went and maybe drop a little lower later if I had trouble.  I thanked him for his suggestion, said I wasn’t offended (even though I kind of was) and told him I understood he was just trying to help, but that I can be a stubborn person too and that was pretty much it.  

But I wonder, was I kind of a dick?  Did I set off the confrontation with my dickish response to his trade comment on me selling too high?  Should I have just ignored him?  I do truly understand that he was just trying to help, even if I didn’t want it, so should I have been nicer and more open to his ideas even if I wasn’t planning on following his advice?  Let me know what you think, or this will eat at me all day!

Oh, and the bracers?  About 20 minutes later I got another tell from someone different saying that I was selling them for too much.  So I just logged off and went to the library instead.  Maybe I’ll lower my starting price to 1.8k.

-Dueg

11 Responses to “The Sunday Cop-out, Wherein Dueg Wonders if He’s kind of a Dick”


  1. 04/05/2009 at 11:20 AM

    No, I think you were reasonable. If he had said it once, then shrugged and left you alone, that’s totally fine. But since he insisted on standing there and berating your playstyle, yeah, I think it’s understandable that you got a little bristly.
    We could always use a tidbit of advice every now and then, but the way it’s delivered can really make or break it.
    (One time when I was in Hellfire Pen, I got a random tell from someone who was like ‘Why do your talents suck so much?’ I was like ‘….Excuse me?’ He replied ‘Your talents. They all suck.’ So I told him exactly what else he can suck, and that randomly whispering people to berate them is not productive. Turns out that I’m still learning about talent trees, and a guild mate I was playing with helped me out. See? All in how you say it.)

  2. 04/05/2009 at 12:38 PM

    I agree. If he really wanted to help he could have whispered you once and left it at that. But he made a big deal out of it instead and so he’s the dick 😀

  3. 3 Anea
    04/05/2009 at 1:03 PM

    No, not a dick. The seller’s price and selling method’s are the seller’s and none of the general trade’s business. As Will said, if he really was trying to help (and only trying to help) then he would have said one thing in tells and left it at that.

    But for some reason this guy gets his rocks off by lecturing and acting holier-than-thou. /shrug. And yeah, you probably did provoke the ensuing argument with your responses, but who can blame you? Not I – I would have done the same thing.

  4. 04/05/2009 at 1:19 PM

    I can’t believe the pussies that are responding here, omg. You, sir, are a total dick.

  5. 04/05/2009 at 1:33 PM

    Thanks Khaeli, it’s only with tough love like that that I’ll learn to be a functioning member of society. /nod nod

  6. 04/05/2009 at 1:51 PM

    The whole thing seemed to have gotten sour after the first round of communication. If he thought you were selling them too high, so what? Someone might be willing to pay that or not know better or whatever. If he wanted to be helpful then he would have STARTED with a pst saying “Just wanted to let you know I’ve seen the market fall a bit on those” or something.

    Really, the only person that should be telling the seller that they are selling for too high is someone wishing to barter the price down to purchase them.

    Even if your response was curt, it’s true – it’s your sale and your time. There are much worse responses you could have made.

  7. 04/06/2009 at 6:10 AM

    Hey at least you were selling something, unlike the guys this weekend telling racist jokes and calling people names for being offended. Thank God for /ignore and reporting.

  8. 04/06/2009 at 9:02 AM

    It is kind of interesting how gamers get all protective about the trade system. If anyone tries to overprice an item they are ostracized for it and usually publicly. I’ve seen it happen numerous times in trade chat on my own server.

    While their intentions might be good some people do go a little too far with almost harassing the seller, calling them names etc. Some people feel like they have to “police” the system.

    The bottom line is that other players probably should stay out of economic issues. If you hadn’t sold them at 2K you would have figured that out yourself and lowered your asking price.

    The person who was criticizing you is the one who has issues with how you are doing business, it is their hangup, not yours.

  9. 04/06/2009 at 1:22 PM

    One of my superpowers is knowing exactly what to say to piss someone off. I try to use this gift as little as possible, but sometimes it cannot be denied.

    I have encountered similar players, who are only interested in having an audience to whom they can preach their economic wisdom. I normally do not respond to them directly, but add the line “half of what is asking” to my add in trade.

    You, good sir, were not even close to being a dick.

    Vess

  10. 04/06/2009 at 1:25 PM

    * “half of what (insert economic guru player’s name) is asking”

  11. 04/23/2009 at 7:53 AM

    I have a saying for these idiots in Trade…
    “Pay up or shut up.”

    It’s not your trade, so you aren’t selling it. You obviously don’t want to buy it or you would try to haggle.

    And if you aren’t selling or buying, you don’t have an opinion. Well at least not one that counts.


Leave a Reply

Posts with the Mosts

Tell me how awesome I am!

Beat the rush and send me an e-mail at: HolyDueg@gmail.com. It's good to have heroes.

