14
Apr
09

The Needs of the Many Outweigh the Needs of the Dueg

Pictured: Discipline Dueg

Pictured: Discipline Dueg

So the other day I posted on my guild forums saying that now that I had sort of completed a decent hit gear set (I still have one blue I need to replace), I was open to taking shadow as my second spec when 3.1 landed.  My reason behind this was that the other night when we were in Naxx and had too many healers, a call went out specifically for Shadow Priests.  The discipline priest we had along lost the roll, so he ended up respeccing for that night, but it got me to thinking.  Though we do have a resident Shadow Priest, his schedule can be somewhat shaky as can our new Discipline Priest, so basically I asked the guild which we would like to have in reserve, Shadow or Discipline.

Though one of the tanks wanted Discipline for obvious reasons, the vote came back mainly in favor of having Shadow available when necessary.  So last night with the patch looming I went and grabbed shadow glyphs and sat myself down in front of the priest trainer in SMC before logging and when the servers are back up, will be purchasing dual specs and going shadow as my secondary.  Now let me clear something up real quick by saying that my guild is not forcing me to do this.  We’re of the opinion that you have your raiding spec and when you raid, that’s the one you’re expected to be in.  But all I do lately is raid, so I don’t mind having the guild dictate what my second spec will be based on what’s needed the most.

So I’ll be downloading Omen and getting a damage meter and will be doing the pew pew every once in a while and the more I started thinking about it, the more I feel like an occasional break from the frenetic pace of healing wouldn’t be such a bad thing.  If any of you read the comments from my post yesterday, you could see that maybe Dueg is feeling a little bit of the burnout from doing the same thing over and over again for the last few months.  Hopefully Ulduar will be able to cure me of that, but I like the option of being able to do something different for a change, something new besides whack-a-mole.  Plus soloing should become a breeze now with the ability to change to a DPS spec at will.

But I also wonder if maybe I’m trading in my ideals for this.  Anyone who’s a regular reader knows that for the past couple of months I’ve been saying “Dueg’s a healer, I’ll be going Discipline as secondary to cement that fact.”  Priests are the only class that get two healing trees, an option that can be both attractive and binding at the same time.  It’s not like you can’t ever respec again and you even have the option of making one spec your healing spec and the other will always stay dps, but I just don’t know.  Lately I’ve been feeling like it wouldn’t be so bad to have a little less responsibility in raids.  To focus on one target and just hit 1-2-3-4-5-3-4-5-5-3-4 or whatever.  Discipline spec, though fun and a cool way to be a healer, is just not something new really.  It’s still just healing.

So for the moment I’ve decided that I will let my guild decide for me and tell me what they need most and I will do my best to be that occasional dps and go all “pew pew” without following it with “laserz!”  How about you all out there in internet land, though?  Have you already decided or will it come down to wire when you have your cursor floating back and forth between the trees?  Will your guild be the one to dictate your new secondary spec or have you told them to feck oof and you’re doing whatever you feel like?   All I can say for sure is don’t be frightened if you see a smudgy BElf on here from time to time.  That’s just Emo Dueg and I promise he won’t be cutting himself… at least not where people can see him dive deep into the despairing abyss of his soul.

-Dueg

13 Responses to “The Needs of the Many Outweigh the Needs of the Dueg”


  1. 04/14/2009 at 11:29 AM

    For now I’m not taking a second spec. I want to put off the decision until I get the hang of Ulduar and find out what we really need. It also depends on what the other priests in my raid do.
    It would be cool to have a shadow spec for doing quest dailies and stuff. But I don’t desire to be shadow in raids and I don’t have the gear for it anyway.

    If I do see a need to carry a second spec for raiding it will probably be Disc.

  2. 04/14/2009 at 11:31 AM

    Shadow Priesting is immensely fun. And hey! With Vampiric Embrace, you’re still healing!

  3. 04/14/2009 at 11:41 AM

    Lately I’ve been feeling like it wouldn’t be so bad to have a little less responsibility in raids. To focus on one target and just hit 1-2-3-4-5-3-4-5-5-3-4 or whatever.

    You better be ready to learn to keep your damage up while dodging all the crap you had to as a healer. It’s just as much a responsibility. Without DPS, the raid dies. That’s how it works.

  4. 04/14/2009 at 11:43 AM

    @Klinderas: true, but if the raid dies, no one blames the dps.

  5. 04/14/2009 at 11:50 AM

    I wanna gos hadow but they might “make” me go holy….noooooooo.

  6. 6 Duht
    04/14/2009 at 11:50 AM

    I got lucky. My desire, and the needs of the guild in 25 man content fell along the same lines. We’ve got one 25 man team, and enough geared and active tanks for 2 teams with some backup. We have a slight surplus of healers. We ran naxx last week with 7 healers, and with only 24 spots filled.

    My main spec is prot, but for the last couple weeks I’ve been running ret. Getting an idea how to DPS and letting some of the other tanks take some hits for a change. I’ll be specced for Prot/Ret . That makes me happy. Prot/Holy would have made me sad.

  7. 04/14/2009 at 11:52 AM

    @Dueg: and hey, I’LL blame the DPS!

  8. 8 Light
    04/14/2009 at 11:57 AM

    Dual specs means I can solo now without boring mobs to death. My guild won’t let me raid as anything other than resto. 😦

  9. 04/14/2009 at 12:05 PM

    @Light: 500th commenter, woot!

  10. 04/14/2009 at 1:02 PM

    ZOMG Spock is a Disc Priest too!

    Vess

  11. 11 Pugnacious Priest
    04/18/2009 at 11:19 AM

    Guild line – is what is most benificial. I’ve done it. Gone Holy as my offspec. Even asked the healing lead for an inspection and I hope I am never called upon to use it. I feel like I have to relearn to play all over – heal bot configuration looks scary. I tried healing some Bgs – and i can get the heals out.. but then i get targeted and killed, and I am forever chasing people who go out of range. I don’t like it 😦
    I think guilds forcing people into specs that they didn’t choose, and don’t want to play is rather hypercritcal considering the bring the player not the class philiosphy was supposed to be that bring what and who you enjoy playing not bring what you HAVE to.

  12. 04/21/2009 at 7:04 PM

    You might have realized already, but Shadow is far from just a specific rotation of numbers to press. It’s more of a “priority list”, as are most things these days, but it’s further complicated by the fact that there’s outside buffs, one buff of your own, 3 dots, 1 debuff, 2 cooldowns and the occasional clipping of mindflay to watch out for. To get the most out of shadow DPS, you’re going to have to put in quite a few hours of research and practice, and it really is a very hard offspec to do good with.


Leave a Reply

Posts with the Mosts

Tell me how awesome I am!

Beat the rush and send me an e-mail at: HolyDueg@gmail.com. It's good to have heroes.

