26
Apr
09

The Sunday Cop-out, Wherein Dueg Shows off His Ninja Skillz

Heya everyone gonna make this one short and sweet cause I’m throwing a bbq this evening in order to celebrate the first truly hot and fantastic weekend of spring.  This week I wanted to show off all the work i’ve been doing in my dining room for the last month and a half.  You see, for anyone who didn’t know, When we bought our house the dining room actually had a couple of closets in it, cutting it pretty much in half.  Here’s a pic of the dining room from when we were standing between the closets which were in an archway heading into my fiance’s office:

Yeah, a little cramped

Yeah, a little cramped

So we decided that those bad boys had to come down.  And so it was that I focused my chi and rage into a tiny white hot ball of fire, and I struck with all my fury!

KEEEEEEE-

KEEEEEEE-

YAI!

YAI!

By the way, I know that I’m desperately in need of a haircut during the demo pics, I don’t see why you had to point that out, sheesh.  Anyways, lemme give you an idea of how big these closets were:

And there was another one on the opposite side

And there was another one on the opposite side

And in case I wasn’t sure that the previous owners were totally bonkers, I submit to you Exhibit A:

What's wrong with this picture?

What's wrong with this picture?

I’ll tell you what’s wrong, look at that color!  What is that?  Puke?  Gross.  Plus they actually cut off the molding for the window so they could stick a couple of extra inches onto the closet!  And the ceiling that got torn up when they installed it, cost me a hundred bucks to get a plaster guy in here, sheesh.  Anyways, I digress, these people were whack jobs, here’s a pick of what the dining room looked like after we pulled down those travesties to God:

You can see the closet outline on the ground there

You can see the closet outline on the ground there

So after we got the plaster guy in, we were able to finally start painting, first, the ceiling:

Like a warm, summer sky.

Like a warm, summer sky.

Then the walls:

Like a warm, summer... uhm... light brown... colored... thing

Like a warm, summer... uhm... light brown... colored... thing

And finally put an extra glossy coat on the base molding, sanded as much of the closet outline on the floor (we’ll have to get them refinished before it’s complete gone), put some finish restorer on the table and bought a new chest of drawers for the dining room.  and so I present to you our final product:

I guess it will do

I guess it will do

As you can see, we still need to put that poster up in the background there and we’ll be getting some sort of chandelier to hang over the table.  We also want to scrape and paint that radiator, we just haven’t decided what color to go with yet.  Still, it feels good to have a functioning dining room again after a month or so of having it in various stages of progress.  Till tomorrow, take it easy everyone, I’m off to drink some beer and eat some meat!

-Dueg

5 Responses to “The Sunday Cop-out, Wherein Dueg Shows off His Ninja Skillz”


  1. 04/26/2009 at 11:28 AM

    ORANGE

    PAINT IT ALL ORANGE LIKE THE WASP OF GREATNESS

    DO IT NOOOOOOW

  2. 2 Chibikeni
    04/26/2009 at 11:31 AM

    Nicely done on the home deco, Dueg =D You’re right about the colour you and the misues chose, has that ‘very ambient’ feeling in the room.

    Probably need a carpet to cover those old closet marks on the floor ^^;; /shrugs

  3. 3 Anea
    04/26/2009 at 2:00 PM

    Great work! The brown was more café de leche than I thought, but I really like the effect!

  4. 4 Scrat!
    04/27/2009 at 10:41 AM

    wow dude… wow.

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen you do labor like this before in all my years.

    She must have beer flavored nipples or something.

    You the man now dog.

    (was the nipples thing over the line, I’ve never talked about anyone’s fiance before, dunno what the rules are)

    (pretty sure if your sweet ass mom is fair game, so is your lady)

    (lemme know if I’m wrong butternuts)

  5. 04/28/2009 at 9:14 AM

    I’m impressed! With my luck I would have kicked that stud and broke my foot. 😛


Leave a Reply

Posts with the Mosts

Tell me how awesome I am!

Beat the rush and send me an e-mail at: HolyDueg@gmail.com. It's good to have heroes.

