07
May
09

Glyphs for the Discerning Holy Priest

Glyph of Dueg Rocks

Glyph of Dueg Rocks

For the past few weeks I’ve been hitting up Ulduar pretty hard with about five nights of raiding per week being par for the course.  During this time, i’ve been able to re-examine the class, see what works best, what works less and adjust my playing style accordingly.  Through it all, however, I’ve had the same glyphs popped into my spell book and I’m beginning to ponder the usefulness of one in particular, prompting me to do a full review of all of them.  The more I did so, the more I realized that I simply could not keep my precious opinion to myself any longer!  So let’s take a look at some of these and try to sort out the best route, shall we?

First off, let’s take a look at what I currently have equipped for my holy spec:

Glyph of Circle of Healing – This one is fairly obvious and a staple for any holy priest.  As CoH is your bread and butter spell, there’s absolutely no reason not to add to it’s capabilities and give it that extra dose of awesome.

Glyph of Flash Heal – Another staple, this one for both healing specs of a priest.  Anything to increase mana efficiency on one of our quickest heals is a plus for any healer.

Glyph of Renew – This is the one I’m beginning to reconsider.  With the advent of Empowered Renew, I thought that this glyph would truly shine, especially considering that it can crit for up to 2k health when glyphed and helps to proc your other talents.  However, you can still gain the procs from regular and it will drop the healed amount from around 1200 to about 900 or so (that’s quick and dirty math, so don’t consider it an authority on the numbers).  I do use Renew fairly regularly, though it’s only around fifth or so on my list of most used spells.

But what to replace it with?  There are two contenders right now to take over the third spot, and they are:

Glyph of Guardian Spirit – At first I thought that this was a fairly useless glyph but the more time I’ve spent in Ulduar, dealing with “oh shit” moment after “oh shit” moment and even popping Guardian Spirit on trash pulls as well as bosses, the more I’ve come to reconsider this glyph.  On certain bosses (Mimiron and the Assembly of Iron come immediately to mind), this spell can literally be a raid saver and there has been a few times where I’ve popped it and wished I still had it up while the timer was ticking down.  3 minutes is a pretty short cooldown for such a powerful spell, but 1 minute would be even better.

Glyph of Prayer of Healing – This one is another that I initially pooh-poohed, but am starting to think might actually be fairly useful.  Though I don’t cast PoH all the time, I’ve noticed that I do cast it often enough to possibly make this glyph worthwhile.  Anytime the raid is taking a lot of AoE damage, which is the type of situation you’ll see this spell used in, any extra bit of healing can be a god send.  Mix this with the two piece effect on the tier gear, and you’ve got a very powerful group AoE heal indeed.

But those two aren’t the only options, just the most useful and obvious ones for PvE healing.  For posterity’s sake, let’s take a look at a few more that I glanced at, but ultimately deemed too useless to bother with:

Glyph of Dispel Magic – Anything with an added heal is nice, but the fact is that this glyph would only truly be useful in the Hodir encounter where there’s a lot of dispeling going on.  For the most part, however, all this glyph will do is take up a slot in your book.

Glyph of Holy Nova – This glyph is actually not too shabby.  It turns your Holy Nova spell into a very decent group heal.  However, in a raid environment, there are better glyphs out there.  I would recommend this for a priest who runs a lot of five mans.

Glyph of Lightwell – If you have Lightwell in your spec, you might want to consider this, but I would really recommend reconsidering your spec first.

Glyph of Power Word: Shield – This one is really more for Discipline Priests, but if you use shield a lot, you might want to take a look at this.  I just simply wouldn’t recommend it since there are better options for holy priests out there.

I would pretty much file all other glyphs under the useless category for a Holy PvE Priest.  Of course, you should always try to tailor your glyphs to your particular play style, and this is based off of my particular style.  So now I turn to you, gentle jerkwads, because I just can’t decide.  What glyph works best?  Should I go with Guardian Spirit or Prayer of Healing?  Or maybe I’m missing out on the Lightwell parade?  If you have an opinion, I’d love to hear it because I prefer to let the masses do my decision making for me.

-Dueg

2 Responses to “Glyphs for the Discerning Holy Priest”


  1. 05/07/2009 at 5:50 PM

    The dispel one would be very nice for Yoggy (p2), I’ve been dispelling and cleansing there for crazy! But I don’t think I’ll glyph for only 1 fight… =/ (Unless I’m very desperate).

  2. 2 harpysnest
    05/07/2009 at 11:35 PM

    Our first Yogg kill I reglyphed for dispel and ended up really disappointed by it. Our holy paladin ended up doing the majority of the dispelling over all so it seemed a bit of a waste.

    I actually run with guardian spirit, prayer of healing and circle of healing. I ditched flash heal early on in Ulduar because mana hasn’t been an issue.

    We also have two holy priests in our raids, so two glyphed guardian spirits complement our tanks cooldowns really nicely on things like Thorim, Mimiron and the pull on the cat lady (whose name I fail at spelling).

    Prayer of Healing because quite often we end up with only holy priests doing our raid healing (when the shamans slack) so the glyph contributes a fair chunk of effective healing.

    and Circle of Healing for obvious reasons.


Leave a Reply

Posts with the Mosts

Tell me how awesome I am!

Beat the rush and send me an e-mail at: HolyDueg@gmail.com. It's good to have heroes.

