14
May
09

So Long, and Thanks for all the Pwns

So last night a moment I had seen coming for a long while finally happened.  Scrat, my bestest buddy, posted that he was done with WoW for the time being.  Though not exactly a shock to see, it was a little sad having the fact confirmed that someone who I am truly a friend with leave the game.  I always enjoyed being in raids with him when we would chat about who had a bigger epeen or suggest vile acts were performed upon our promiscuous mothers.  As he was a healer as well, the competition between us to heal the most was always most determined.  Yes, I will most definitely miss my sidekick (which he totally was) and will remember him fondly as I pick up all my new purps in Ulduar.

As I said, he had pretty much stopped playing about a month before 3.2 came out, so this wasn’t too much of a shock really.  But what was a shock was reading this this morning.  Now this isn’t exactly the same as Vonya is just taking a break for the time being, but it still got me thinking which usually gets me to posting.  How does it affect you when people who you’ve known for a long time suddenly leave the game for whatever reason?  Maybe life is just pulling them into the offline world a little too hard and they just can’t take the time to play anymore.  Or maybe they’ve just grown burnt out as so many people do and simply need some time off to get their thoughts together as Vonya does.

In Scrat’s case he was simply burnt out and done.  I had called him maybe about two weeks after he had stopped playing in order to yell at him about how he wasn’t raiding.  We had a long conversation where he told me he was basically tired of raiding and doing the same thing over and over again.  He wanted a different experience from his games, but said that he would most likely be back after Ulduar hit.  Two weeks after Ulduar had come out with him only running one and a half raids with us, I knew he was most likely done for the time being.  Gradual acceptance came over me.

But with others it can be sudden.  I’ve seen on my forums where players who had been coming to every raid, chit chatting, seeming to be enjoying themselves, have simply said “not feeling it anymore, take it easy,” and  scooted out of the game.  This sort of thing would usually leave the person’s closer in game friends standing around, scratching their head in wonder for a few days before shrugging and going back to playing.  When someone quits, it’s always an occasion for pause while you reflect on your own experience in the game and whether it’s worthwhile to you.  But more often than not you return to the game and people you find so fun.

And that’s what I’ll do.  Scrat was my buddy, but he wasn’t the reason I played.  He got me into my guild and I appreciate that, but I’ve also become my own personality in the guild make up.  I also have other friends, new ones I’ve made in the guild and of course Reyk, who’s not going anywhere at the time being.  We’re still enjoying what the game has to offer and I suspect will be doing so for quite some time yet.  Of course, I’m sure sometime in the future I’ll type out that final post saying so long myself, and I’ll probably pause and reflect on all the people I’m leaving behind.  But until then, it’s back to rep grinds and raid nights and writing blog posts.

And so to Scrat I say Adios Amigo, I hope you come back, but if not, it was great playing with you.  And the only reason I’m posting the following picture of you is because I love you.  And because it’s hilarious.

What an asshole

What an asshole

-Dueg

3 Responses to “So Long, and Thanks for all the Pwns”


  1. 1 Scrat!
    05/14/2009 at 12:18 PM

    oh… my…. god

    you hot sack of shit. ILL KILL U!

    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!111!!!1!!1!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. 05/14/2009 at 2:05 PM

    Hi Scrat /wave
    I don’t even know you, or Deug, for that matter, but I’ve enjoyed reading about the fun times you guys have had, and especially enjoyed the RP stories that have been posted. I hope you have a great time playing whatever else you find to play out there. Oh, and your momma is …. nah, nvm, I won’t go there. 😉

  3. 05/14/2009 at 2:10 PM

    XD LOVE the pic.
    Well, I’m sorry to hear that! It’s good that he’s prioritizing, but in any case, I wish him the best. *waves


Leave a Reply

Posts with the Mosts

Tell me how awesome I am!

Beat the rush and send me an e-mail at: HolyDueg@gmail.com. It's good to have heroes.

