20
May
09

An Exercise in Vanity

As some of you may have noticed when you arrived at my site this morning, I have yet a new banner.  Let me give you the back story on this.  So last night I’m sitting in Ulduar with my guild, minding my own business, when all of a sudden this Wayward Conqueror tier token drops from Thorim.  Well I says to myself, “Self,” I says, “you sure can use that bad boy, would be nice general upgrade, that’s for sure.”  So I spend my DKP, pick up the token and skip off to the tier vendor all “tra la la” and such.  With schoolgirl glee I purchased it, ran off to buy the proper enchants and gems and then placed it upon my weary brow, only to be greeted with this sight:

If hippies were rogues

If hippies were rogues

Look at how silly I appear!  And apparently my hair is simply an optical illusion to stun the masses, as it appears to be going directly through my face mask there.  No, this looked ridiculous.  I was familiar with how it would look because I have the shadow version from 10 man, but until now I hadn’t bothered to do anything about it.  I knew I didn’t want to simply have the mask turned off anymore, this one actually looks cool instead of like some sort of Hawk Man rip off.  I know that some priests think they look stupid, but to them I say “niener niener”.

So I did one thing I though I would never do.  with heavy feet and a cold lump in my stomach, I walked into the barbershop, sat down and told them to cut it all off.  I was unsure at first, afraid of how it would come out.  Dueg’s always had the long hair style, it’s familiar, it’s part of the character.  Light blessed spellcaster = long hair, it just made sense.  But I wanted the new mask, I wanted to look cool, so I did what had to be done.

Super Saiyan level a million

Super Saiyan level a million

But why do I even care?  Usually when I’m playing, I’m way zoomed out and can’t really see my character.  The only time I get a good look at Dueg is for a couple of seconds when I’m logging in and when I’m taking screenshots for the blog.  Other than that, he’s usually just a half inch high spec in the middle of my screen, so why should I get the feeling that I have to show this helm off?  Why should I go so far as to change what’s been the fundamental look for my character since I created him over a year ago?

It comes down to the fact that you’re not really dressing up your character for yourself, but for other people to look and go ooh and aah over it.  You want people to see you in the coolest looking gear you have for many different reasons.  Some enjoy the simple aesthetics of it, liking others to find their character pleasing to the eye while others simply want to show off that they have the best gear they can get and these  pixels prove it.  However, nothing ruins the moment of getting a sweet new piece of gear than slotting it in and seeing how ridiculous it makes you look.

Of course you love it when your regular gear matches and looks like it’s on purpose.  Everyone remembers the debacle that was Outlands gear where overnight half the people joined the circus and started running around in clown’s clothing.  And even now, people complain about how the gear for Ulduar is all just re-colored tier items, nothing new or original to add to someone’s burgeoning wardrobe.  They want to be able to make an acceptable looking set of gear for just running around Dalaran and don’t want them thought ridiculous for wearing the BiS.  I tend to think that Blizzard has done an excellent job with the look of Northrend gear though.

For me, I’ve always wanted Dueg to look good, but I never went out of my way to make him suit an item like I did last night.  I’ve liked the look of this set since I saw the first pictures of it way back when and definitely want the robe and to upgrade to the 8.5 gloves asap.  So I’ve gone the way of the vain since the mask was my first upgrade and will definitely be wearing it with pride.  But how about you?  You ever purposefully done something in order to dress your character up or make them look better?  And before I go, in honor of my bestest buddy, Bubz, I give you a floaty pic:

Pictured: One Hot Tamale

Pictured: One Hot Tamale

-Dueg

12 Responses to “An Exercise in Vanity”


  1. 05/20/2009 at 10:25 AM

    Conragts! You learned the #1 lesson of priest blogging:

    LEVITATE IS FOR SS!

  2. 05/20/2009 at 10:25 AM

    I won’t lie: that does indeed look badass.

    If I had a rogue-style mouthcover, I’d totally do the same.

  3. 05/20/2009 at 10:29 AM

    Now we just need to worry about how the shoulder pads combined with the new mask make your neck disappear. 😄

    But seriously, grats on the new gear. And don’t fret about the hair, you can let it grow out again when you replace the mask with something even more super-powerful.

  4. 05/20/2009 at 10:46 AM

    That …. looks really awesome.

    It became sort of a ritual for me as Roz was leveling, to visit the barber shop regularly, as I could never quite settle on just the right look. Eventually, I got it, but he still has gone and changed the colour of his braids to match when he gets a new robe. He also has 2 netherweave bags full of cool looking robes in his bank, because … well, he looks good in them. >.>

  5. 05/20/2009 at 10:58 AM

    The new look is very… um… Adam Lambert.

  6. 05/20/2009 at 11:33 AM

    Aw, no more long hair? Our Dueg is growing up…*sniff*
    Seriously though, the mask looks great. And, because I -have- to, does this mask make your power level…
    OVER 9000?!?!?!?!!??

  7. 7 Zietha
    05/20/2009 at 12:12 PM

    About 2 weeks ago when got the head i came to the same conclusion, I need a new haircut.

    It was a harsh decision since i still had the same haircut since i first set my feet in Durotar.

    Duni to the left and Zietha to the right (Ye that is me)

  8. 8 Light
    05/20/2009 at 6:35 PM

    That looks awesome.

    I’m jealous of you non-trees.

  9. 9 Duht
    05/21/2009 at 6:55 AM

    In my 30’s and 40’s I had a suit of armor that was all red. I went to great lengths, searching the AH for boe’s, researching quest chains, and farming instances for particular pieces. I’d take the less optimal, but more aesthetically pleasing piece every time.

    My friends were embarrassed for me. I was amused.

    Every blood knight has to have a nice red set of armor… right?

    RIGHT?

  10. 10 Anea
    05/21/2009 at 9:33 AM

    Grats on the upgrade!

    I haven’t had to change the way that Anea looks for gear – but I haven’t gotten a ninja mask either 😛

  11. 11 Morrighan
    05/22/2009 at 5:39 AM

    I have to say, I regularly change my priests hair colour so it doesn’t clash with my gear. I do have to look at her a lot and purple hair with a red cloak and chest just don’t match imo. Don’t have the problem with my paladin because everything clashes when you look like a banana.

    Barbershops are great. And gz on the tier item.

  12. 12 Pugnacious Priest
    05/23/2009 at 7:38 AM

    given the weather is getting colder in my part of the world my 1s thought was ” you must be warm… ”
    😛


Leave a Reply

Posts with the Mosts

Tell me how awesome I am!

Beat the rush and send me an e-mail at: HolyDueg@gmail.com. It's good to have heroes.

