01
Jun
09

Add Ons? More Like BAD Ons! BAM!

So I was noticing on my guild forums that a thread has recently been resurrected wherein guildies are posting their UIs for tips and in order to help others and such and such.  Now I’m a being of the interwebs and as such, I have a tendency to surf it.  Beyond just this particular thread on my guild forums, I’ve seen many many many posts on various blogs where people share their UIs and give tips on how you can improve your own.  So I’ve decided that the time has come for me to post my own.  Ready?  Then feast your eyes upon Dueg’s Super Fantastic Fun UI for Holy Priests and Awesome People:

Try not to be overwhelmed

Try not to be overwhelmed

Gasp!  The original UI?!  Oh, Dueg, how can you let everyone down like this?  How will people respect you now that your terrible little secret is out of the bag?  Well, I’ll tell you how.  See that healing meter there in the corner?  See the second name on there?  That’s right, Duegathalas.  This just serves to prove something that I’ve held as a fact since I began raiding: Your UI does not make you a better raider.

Now don’t get me wrong here, I don’t think that everyone who downloads a new UI add on is convinced that this one will help them to become the end all, beat all shit of raids.  For the most part, UIs are simply aesthetic for the people who download them, used to decorate their screens in a more pleasing manner so that their visual input is streamlined in order to increase efficiency.  Thanks to some pretty strict rules, you really can’t have add ons that do things for you, or else you’ve crossed over into the forbidden world of botting.  But what is it that makes a good add on?

Well, as I’m sure is pretty obvious by now, I’m a minimalist when it comes to my UIs and add ons.  I’ve done some research and made some considerations and for the most part i’ve come to the conclusion that I just don’t NEED a lot of fancy UI add ons and that likes of which.  I’ve done a-ok with my three main ones and I feel like anything else would simply be window dressing for Dueg.  So let’s take a look and see what I’ve chosen and I’ll try to explain why it works for me.  First up is one that I think is one of the better raid view UIs, Grid

GridI prefer this particular one because I’m a click-then-cast type of healer.  With Grid, everything is tightly packed together, making it easier to move from person to person while healing.  However, this can be accomplished with other UIs.  The true beauty of Grid is it’s customization to display debuffs present or buffs missing from the people shown.  I have mine set up to display when magical debuffs show up which improves my dispelling timing.  I also love the way that it gives you a number to display how much health is missing from your target, letting you know in a flash which heal would be better suited for each particular situation.  My particular one is set to show a 40 man raid so that I can see past five groups in case we have to move people around for particular assignments.

power auraNext up is what has quickly become one of my absolute favorites for add ons, power auras.  I use this one basically to let me know when certain spells are off cooldowns and when procs are up and ready to be used.  I’ll give you a quick run down for the picture you see to the right.  The cross and little droplet at the left is for PoM and CoH, when they’re on cooldown those will disappear, letting me know at a glance not to waste my time casting those.  The spark in the upper right corner is for when Surge of Light is ready for use, you can see a timer there under it to indicate how long I have left.  The bottom two icons are Guardian Spirit on the left and Divine Hymn on the right. Those pop up when those abilities are on cooldown, letting me know how long until they are available again.  

Finally, that circle around me is Serendipity, I actually have three distinct circle icons that change with each stack, letting me know when Serendipity is fully charged without having to check my buff section.  This also helps to serve as an indicator of where Dueg’s located when I’m fully zoomed out and lost in the crowd of raiders.  All of these help to show me what the current status of my character is when checking buffs and cooldowns by giving me a centralized location on my screen to find that information.

Finally, my third major add on (besides Recount, which I really don’t count), is Deadly Boss Mods.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, everyone who is serious about raiding should have DBM (or an equivalent boss timer mod).  Basically, DBM is an add on that will give you important in fight information about the boss that you are on.  It’ll let you know when an ability is about to be cast or when you’re standing in some bad shit.  It lets you know cooldown timers for boss abilities and gives you an idea when to prepare for spike damage and can literally save your digital life.  You can certainly go without it, but it certainly can’t hurt to have it.

So that’s it, those are my add ons and that’s my UI.  I find that all three of these have improved me a great deal and I wouldn’t be caught dead without them at any raids.  So now I turn to you, gentle jerkwads, what sort of UIs do you prefer?  Maybe you’re like me and the original is good enough for you with some slight modification to help improve reaction times during raids.  Or maybe you’re a UI fanatic, filling up your screen with numbers and windows and loving every graphical minute of it?  Either way, I’m open to suggestions or ideas for improvement, just don’t expect me to run right out and download it.

-Dueg

Update: One little tip I completely forgot to mention!  As you can see in the picture, I’ve taken to turning my name on.  I also turn off friendly player’s names, but keep my target’s name on still.  This helps when zoomed out as well as it gives you a visual cue of your location and that of your target.  In mobile fights where you may need to know at a glance exactly where your target is, but it’s more beneficial to take in the entire battlefield, this can prove pivotal for gauging range.

14 Responses to “Add Ons? More Like BAD Ons! BAM!”


  1. 06/01/2009 at 11:44 AM

    *bows head in shame at my HPS*

    but, but the bubbles count for something right? *runs off crying*

    power auras looks pretty nifty though… I’ll have to post my UI once I get access to those parts of the forums lol.

  2. 2 Chibikeni
    06/01/2009 at 11:46 AM

    Asides from addons, I’ve noticed you do not use alot of hotkeys either. Personally I’d prefer the older interface unless my UI gets borked in certain situations >,>

    But I have to admit, can’t manage my game without a bag-addon :< *hugs Bagnon*

  3. 06/01/2009 at 12:44 PM

    Thanks for posting your UI. I’m a big fan of minimal.

    I’m leveling a warrior, which obviously is quite a bit different than a priest. But I’m wondering if I don’t need to investigate a UI addon that helps me manage what abilities are available when.

  4. 06/01/2009 at 12:55 PM

    I too use next to nothing for my UI. DBM and recount are always on and I only turn on my grid when raiding. I found that the scrolling combat text provided by the ingame UI allows me enough warning to know when things are ready. I find it extra hilarious on my frost mage when he gets his free fireball proc because it says instead of .

    I am though happy to learn that I’m not the only minimalist priest healer and that I’m also not the only clicker type as well. Thank’s for sharing!

  5. 5 Light
    06/01/2009 at 2:13 PM

    That power auras thing looks pretty cool.

    I’ve never used grid but does it do a ‘mouseover and click x button for y spell’ customizable thing like healbot does? Healbot is annoying in 25 man raids, it takes up too much space.

  6. 06/01/2009 at 3:07 PM

    @Light: That sounds like clique, I’m not sure though because I’ve never tried the click-to-heal route. I’m pretty sure grid doesn’t support that style unless you have a separate add on to supplement it. Sorry that I’m useless on that one.

  7. 7 Isiene
    06/01/2009 at 10:55 PM

    @Light: Dueg is right; you need to install Clique for Grid to operate like that. Don’t fear, though! Clique is super lightweight, and incredibly easy to use (unlike the initial Grid setup — despite how much I simply adoooore Grid)! For example, I have dispel magic bound to shift+right click, and since I am a disc priest, I have PW:Shield bound to right click. I can just right click everyone’s little Grid box in my 10 man, and bam! Full bubbles in 10 seconds!

    And thank you, Dueg, for showing your Power Auras! I just downloaded it a week ago, but haven’t really set it up as fully as I’d like to. Yours is a perfect inspiration! I won’t have all those textures stacked up on my head anymore.

  8. 8 Augustine
    06/04/2009 at 4:08 PM

    I have to comment on Clique – highly recommended to be paired with Grid. In both my Holy and Disc specs I have 6 spells bound to click with additional mouseover macros for other spells. It might not sound like a big deal, but I could not go back to target-and-cast healing; it’s too slow (especially on some of the later Ulduar fights and hardmodes). For Holy, I have FH, GH, Renew, ProM, CoH, and BH bound to Clique, with mouseover macros for GS and PoH. Disc is the same, except replace CoH with Penance.

    I use Power Auras, as well, and it is an amazing addon. Not just for priests or healing, too. I use it on my lock and DK for certain procs and abilities.

  9. 07/12/2009 at 3:08 PM

    I’m a healer on Moon Guard and … well Dueg no matter what I do I cannot get Power Auras to show up for me! It’s … befuddling to be honest.

    Oh great Dueg, what should I do?

  10. 07/12/2009 at 4:26 PM

    @Airmaid: as in when you’re testing them out or when you’re in raids they don’t show up? I had the problem that when I was creating them, I would try to test them, but nothing would happen. I then discovered that once you set up the power aura, you have to reset your ui to get it to start working. Otherwise, nothing will happen right away. The actual typed command to reset it eludes me at the moment (I think it’s /resetui or something obvious like that), but you can always just log out and log back in to get it started.

    If that still doesn’t do the trick, then I’m not sure what problem you might be having :/

  11. 07/31/2009 at 11:13 AM

    The reload ui command is /reloadui . I love the idea of a simple ui, but at the same time, I love my shinyness. lol. I will more than likely be going to something really simple as I’m tired of the slight lag from 30 fps to about 20 fps in a full 25 man on emalon or something. It gets frustrating. I appreciate your take on the 3 addons you have. I will most likely stick to those and look forward to some other helpful addons.

  12. 12 Tego
    08/18/2009 at 1:19 PM

    Oddly i just use the raid frames i can pull out of the standard ui, shows me target and target of target along with buffs, this allows me to track who is getting targeted by the beasts really quick. though i also use decursive for heavy curse removal

    though i am a paladin and have… 4 primary spells

    =)


Leave a Reply

Posts with the Mosts

Tell me how awesome I am!

Beat the rush and send me an e-mail at: HolyDueg@gmail.com. It's good to have heroes.

