04
Jun
09

A Lesson in Humility

So last night I was sitting around Dalaran waiting for the raid to start and chit chatting with Tart when she mentioned that her hubbie had found a new guild on their old server and was starting to do some serious Ulduar runs.  I asked her where she gets that kind of info and she pointed me to WoW-Heroes.com and then informed me that I was the top geared priest on Darkspear (armory here).  My initial reaction was to tell her “shaddup”, but I decided to take a look for myself.

Silvermoon's #1 Son

Represent

Lo and behold, it was true, but not just the top geared priest, I was listed as the top geared healer and was third overall on the server as well.  Me.  Dumb ol’ Dueg.  I’ll admit it, I giggled with girlish glee as my epeen got a little bigger.  I tried to play it cool be all, well, I suppose that’s nice.  But already that little whisper was beginning to appear.  I told Tart that I was going to have to tell people now and she warned me of the chance that it might backfire.  But I was so very brash and reckless back then, not wise like I am now.

So in the healer channel, I subtly start leading into the subject by saying “hm, this site wow-heroes.com has me listed as the top geared healer on the server”.  Nice and subtle.  This was met with the usual jealous rantings of lesser raiders, but I let it plink off of my well geared armor, unperturbed.  My head was too big to hear them anyways.  There was raiding afoot and <NEED A DISPENSER HERE> needed their best healer at the forefront, ready to keep the troops alive and kicking.  And so began the night of Failpriest Dueg.

I had to be battle rezzed twice in two separate fights and in one of those fights I was still on the floor at the end.  I died in a void zone on cat lady.  I also hugged the bottom of the meters for most of the night even though I felt like my usual self.  The only fight I didn’t have trouble on after Kologarn was Freya for some reason and I usually blow at that one, so very weird.  And though no one brought it up again after my little act of strokage earlier, I still felt the sting of karma.  Hell, even Thorim was making me look like a chump and that’s usually one of my strongest fights.

The point was quickly hammered home that no matter what kind of gear I was sporting, it meant exactly dick if I was dead on the floor for half the fight.  As healers our jobs are just as much to stay alive and not die from stupid shit as they are to heal.  We have to be even more raid aware and ready to move and do our jobs that the average raider because we’re more valuable.  On average, there’s six of us to keep the raid alive, so every time one of us is lost, it becomes exponentially more difficult for those left to keep the raid alive.

So what does this listing represent?  Well, it means I know the priorities of my class and spec and have been able to vehemently chase down gear for my class when it drops.  That in turn means that I’m good at being at scheduled raids.  I have the resources to be aggressive with my dkp because I’m there supporting my guild as much as possible and have been rewarded accordingly.  It also means that I can put up bigger numbers now.  I’ve been watching my crits creeping up into the 20k range and when all the right buffs and totems and procs are working, I get this stat screen:

Yeah, that makes me happy

Yeah, that makes me happy

But even with that working for me, I was useless last night because I spent so much time hugging the floor.  How does it taste, you might ask?  Like bitter ashes in my mouth, I would say.  Fact is that this gear might as well have been someone else’s because that would have been a more help to the raid than it was last night.

Honestly, I’ll say that it was probably just an off night for me last night.  It happens every once in a while and it’s not like I never ever die on bosses, just usually not two or three on the same boss.  However, the timing of it does it make me a little suspicious of fate’s fickle fingers.  Either way, I’ll simply have to buckle down and focus come the next raid in order to make sure that I spend more time on my feet.  I mean, I am the top geared healer on the server after all, I might as well act like it.

-Dueg

9 Responses to “A Lesson in Humility”


  1. 06/04/2009 at 12:44 PM

    It’s oaky my little crack elf, I still love you.

  2. 2 D
    06/04/2009 at 12:56 PM

    I’m not a huge fan of wow-heroes, actually, because it ranks your gear based on ilevel. I’m a shadow priest, and according to shadowpriest.com, there are items at the top or near the top of the list that can be obtained from good old Naxx. Hell, there’s a cloak, the Deathchill Cloak, which is still ranked very high on the list, yet the ilevel is 200. Depending on how much hit rating or mana regen or whatever stat you need, one piece of gear that has a lower ilevel may just be superior to another piece of gear that you can get off of Yogg 25-man.

    Incidently, if I put the highest ilevel pieces that I own into each gear slot, regardless of whether it’s for my dps or my holy set, my gear score jumps up to 2400+. It’s nice …. but not practical for me to actually wear to raid in.

    Whenever pompous jerks like to “gear check” me (really, they’re looking you up on wow-heroes to see your gear score), I always get immediate invites to whatever it was I was inquiring to get in. One day, just for kicks, I’ll probably log out in my Easter dress and basket or something, complete with bunny ears. When I log back on, I’ll try to pug something to see what they say …

  3. 3 Duht
    06/04/2009 at 1:08 PM

    36th prot pally on my server. It’s probably for the best, I’m a bad enough tank as it is, I don’t need to go inflating my ego and making it worse.

  4. 4 Foreman
    06/04/2009 at 1:39 PM

    Dueg, I did have to battle rez you on Freya! I wasn’t playing well last night either. We all have our off days.

  5. 06/04/2009 at 4:23 PM

    Hah! Nice post, congrats on being rank 1!

  6. 06/04/2009 at 5:18 PM

    @ Foreman: That’s right, you did! See people? I couldn’t lie to you, my guild would never let me get away with it.

  7. 06/05/2009 at 11:03 AM

    Haha! We indeed all have our days off. And being overconfident leads to preforming less imo. It happened with me as well where I was just complete shit and useless in a raid. Just do your thing and enjoy the game! 🙂 But those websites don’t say much really imo. Gear helps but it’s skill which counts.

  8. 8 Scrat!
    06/09/2009 at 9:50 AM

    chain heal > gear

    remember that priest.

    Now get to the BACK OF THE LINE!

  9. 9 Pugnacious Priest
    06/09/2009 at 10:30 AM

    Awe Im only number 24 😦 but I can outdps number 4 on that list..

    I agree with D – and it also pee’s me off that the item level is not necessary the best piece for you anyway.

    your allowed to have a little pride 🙂 Its still an achievment to be the best geared and I am sure it was just an off night 🙂


Leave a Reply

Posts with the Mosts

Tell me how awesome I am!

Beat the rush and send me an e-mail at: HolyDueg@gmail.com. It's good to have heroes.

