09
Jun
09

Holy Balls, Albany is Nucking Futs!

NY State Capital Building, where shit goes down

NY State Capital Building, where shit goes down

 

Heya everyone, sorry I wasn’t able to make up a post yesterday, but I had to get up very early to catch a bus ride up to Albany with Mrs Dueg and some of her friends.  I was part of a group that went to Albany in order to lobby for Long Island to get a bigger chunk of the stimulus money for local projects.  The day went fairly well with us meeting with a few of the Democrats who control the senate and even with the majority leader in order to plead our cases.  So we all gather in the cafeteria to congratulate ourselves on a job well done and get ready to get on the bus to come back when shit went down.

There was a major power grab on the floor of the NY State senate at about 3pm yesterday.  Basically, two of the Democratic senators from NYC said that the Democratic majority controlling the senate weren’t getting enough shit done.  So they decided that, though they’re not technically switching party, they will caucus with the Republicans, giving them the majority power for the senate.  There was a vote yesterday and they threw out the majority leader and basically said that the Republicans were in charge of the senate again.  Though I’m sure a lot of you people are all, “so what?” let me just say that this is the closest thing to a parliamentary coup that has ever occurred in NY state government.

Let me put it in some more national terms for you.  Everyone who watched the most recent election knows that Democrats control the senate by 59-40 not counting the minnesota seat that’s in contention currently.  What happened in Albany is the same as if 6 Democratic senators said “Fuck you” to their party and started voting with the Republicans, throwing Harry Reid out of his majority leader position.  Except imagine that instead of seeing this coming, the public finds out about this when the vote happens.  Sheer insanity.  So yeah, instead of coming back early enough for me to type up a post before my raid last night, I got home just in time to be about 20 minutes late for it instead.

Don’t worry though, I’m not making that trip again anytime soon and the posts should once more flow like wine from Dueg’s font of wisdom.  Also, I’m typing up today’s post right now as well, but I just wanted to share this bit of insanity with you all.  Come back in about a couple of hours for new Dueg post today!

-Dueg

3 Responses to “Holy Balls, Albany is Nucking Futs!”


  1. 06/09/2009 at 12:05 PM

    Same thing happened in the US Senate in 2001 when Jim Jeffords switched to caucus with the Democrats. Control of the Senate then flipped to the Dems. It was pretty much out of the blue then as well, and the Senate hasn’t swung back to the GOP since. That was a much bigger “coup”.

    Though, I agree that it’s ridiculous when politicians jump parties, be it Jeffords, these two new Republicans, or Arlen Specter. They usually do it only to get themselves more personal power, or to make it easier for themselves to retain power. It’s seldom out of principle.

  2. 06/09/2009 at 12:19 PM

    @Rhidach: Ack, I see what I did, I meant to write “in NY” and instead wrote “in the US”. You’re right, this is not the first time that this sort of thing has happened in the country. Editing my post now.

  3. 06/10/2009 at 10:13 AM

    Sorry Dueg, I went polisci nerd on you ><


Leave a Reply

Posts with the Mosts

Tell me how awesome I am!

Beat the rush and send me an e-mail at: HolyDueg@gmail.com. It's good to have heroes.

