09
Jun
09

The Sexiness of WoW

Ah yes, the age old debate that comes with almost every fantasy setting and I’ve decided to jump head first into this one.  Now, I’ve already covered my thoughts on interaction between the sexes in WoW in a previous post, so I won’t go too much into that.  However, I will speak today upon the imagery of sex in the game as it is today and my thoughts on it (are you really surprised?).  So buckle up everyone, cause Dueg’s bringing sexy back today!

Now, of course, one must remember that fantasy has long been thought of as the domain of nerds and loser guys everywhere, meant to give them the life they can never lead.  Part of that life will probably include having a hot babe to fight our dragons and make our sandwiches for us, and who can blame them?  It is fantasy after all, and since sex is a part of the human nature, it’s only right that it be part of our fantasies as well.  But does the genre take it too far at times?

If you look at it from a practical point of view, it is incredibly ridiculous for female warriors wearing full plate armor to expose their midriffs.  Don’t they know that monsters have pointy things?  And what’s the point of armor that leaves such a huge swathe of your body unprotected?  And don’t even get me started on the full metal panties that apparently women love to wear.  Yeah, like that doesn’t chafe.  I mean, honestly, don’t you think they’d put some breeches on over those for modesty’s sake at least?  Please ladies, there are children present.  Not to mention, I can’t imagine how terrible it must be to put on ice cold underwear every morning… my god, the horror.

Not to mention that you ladies can’t seem to put on any chest piece in the game without the top half of it suddenly disappearing in order to reveal your sweater puppies.  I mean, cleavage is great, hell’s bells, I thrive on it.  But when I’m raiding, I prefer to keep an eye on health totals and not ol’ Tits McGee over there swinging her jubblies left and right.  Honestly, some of these pieces look like little more than a bra and I’m just a man, I have my weaknesses, and you, Blizzard have exploited them.  Well played.

But all joking aside and beyond the practicality of metal undies, these sort of things are meant to obviously play up to men and give them something to drool about when they’re looking at the game screen.  But it seems like it’s totally tilted in men’s favor when you look at all the examples of “sexiness” in the game.  For example, when looking at the horde races you can see that they’ve gone out of their way to make the females of the orcs and trolls a little more attractive in the face.  Male trolls especially have huge, honking noses, ears out to infinity and tusks like you wouldn’t believe.  Female trolls on the other hand would only require about two or three shots of tequila before I start thinking, “hmm, maybe getting gored tonight wouldn’t be so bad…”

There’s also the idea some women may actually enjoy this sort of attention even if it is only virtual.  It becomes very easy to connect with our characters and when you feel like you have a sexy character, you yourself feel a little sexy as well.  Though you may not wander around in armored chaps in real life, it’s ok to do that and show off your assets in the game world, attracting attention from male gamers.  It’s human nature to want attention, and getting it by having a virtual avatar look a little sexier is not really such a bad thing after all.  Though you may connect with the character, it’s not actually you, making it easier to wear or say things that normally are not in line with your day to day personality.

But as I’ve said, this is heavily tilted towards men.  There’s no such thing as midriff armor for dudes, showing off rock hard abs or anything like that.  We don’t get to wear banana hammock chaps so the ladies can judge the goods before they decide to purchase.  Not to mention that the idea of what women find sexy is about as varied as women are themselves, making it a little more difficult to determine how we can give them a show.  But don’t women deserve some sort of eye candy as well?  Shouldn’t they occasionally see something that gets their motor revving like we do at almost every turn?  Don’t worry ladies, for Dueg has you covered.  Here’s a little something to get you through those lonely nights:

Don't fall in love, Dueg belongs to all the ladies of the world

Don't fall in love, Dueg belongs to all the ladies of the world

-Dueg

9 Responses to “The Sexiness of WoW”


  1. 06/09/2009 at 12:29 PM

    Very good topic. It’s been brought up time and time again, in many different iterations, but yes – the game is geared towards men. A big part of the fantasy is the gross exhaggeration of what we think is ‘heroic.’ Look back at all those Frank Frazetta paintings. Big muscley guy? Check. Hot chick with DD chesticles, desperately clutching at him? Check. This genre has long been dominated by men, and I’m sorry to say it’s going to take awhile to change that.
    Also, I understand the practicality of it, but a small part of me wants to admit that yes, I do enjoy the idea of not only kicking ass, but looking damn good (or as good as a 7′ tall cow can) while doing it.
    But…genders vs. WoW is a topic for another day. =)

  2. 06/09/2009 at 12:31 PM

    Gah! My eyes! My undead, nearly sightless eyes!

  3. 06/09/2009 at 12:35 PM

    “Oh look, I got new robes! The stats are-OH MY GOD THE BOOBAGE…wait, what was I going to gem these with again?”

  4. 4 Light
    06/09/2009 at 2:09 PM

    I think this is why I have a hard time playing female characters in game even though I am a girl.

    My main is male and I prefer it that way. I’ve gotten hit on in every other game with a female character. That, and Lineage 2 really hit it home for me. The characters run half bent over and I got tired of staring at the girls thongs in that game.

    Male chars, less hassle. All fixed. 🙂

  5. 06/09/2009 at 3:42 PM

    Maybe they should introduce a “Show Midriff” under show cloak and show helm under user interface? My roommate always wondered how she wasn’t just cut in half where the armor didn’t cover. She thanks Blizz for at least cloaks that cover her up, and shirts that can “fill in” at least graphically the missing armor.

  6. 06/09/2009 at 5:51 PM

    Funny/sad thing is that a significant percentage of the players are actually female…

    http://www3.interscience.wiley.com/cgi-bin/fulltext/121394419/main.html,ftx_abs#ss7

    That says 20% and i’m sure i’ve seen Wow specific studies saying it was more like 40%.

    I suppose games may be maturing and WoW is a fairly old game.

  7. 06/10/2009 at 6:40 AM

    40% of the playerbase are female in WoW? I find that hard to believe tbh =/ I do think 20% is about right. That’s 1/5 female. Though, in my guild we’re with 2 girls out of the 35ish raiders. Which gives us 5% female player base (WOO). But about the gear… I honestly never had any problems with my gear. Ok some if it does look very naked-ish, but it’s a game. Just get a tabard and a t-shirt and it’s fine. If someone hits on you because of that they’re just a bit sad. And there is still an ignore option.
    Anyways! Dueg, L2 T-shirt! ^^

  8. 8 Anea
    06/10/2009 at 8:29 AM

    Not to mention, I can’t imagine how terrible it must be to put on ice cold underwear every morning… my god, the horror.

    Lawl – and that screenshot? Dueg, you make me swoon.

    @Troutwort – that’s a really interesting idea, actually – if Blizzard insists on making women wear a metal bra, but give men full armor, they could at least give women the OPTION to have the full armor. If some girls want to have the bra and get cut in half in the first second of a fight, awesome. (Really, though, I’d like this option.)

  9. 02/17/2010 at 7:16 AM

    Been reading your site from start to finish… so i am currently on this page and thought it was about time my input was heard (love your site btw, and currently have a lvl 41 shadow priest on the Scarshield Legion RP PVP server EU)

    Anyways, surely the women don’t need eyecandy when it comes to male players… they have enough taverns and inns that have dirty dishes to get any lahaaadee fantasizing about a “spring clean”. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Posts with the Mosts

Tell me how awesome I am!

Beat the rush and send me an e-mail at: HolyDueg@gmail.com. It's good to have heroes.

