22
Jun
09

Is 25 Man Really Better?

Worthless?

Worthless?

Hey everyone, sorry about my disappearance over the weekend and that I didn’t get to put up a Friday Strats last week even though I promised.  I stand before you humbled the complexities of that crazy far-off land we call RL.  But worry not, for I am not disenchanted with the World of Warcraft simply because I lost my guild.  I actually spent a good chunk of time setting up a new interface last night instead of sleeping like I should have been.  I’m still excited about playing and want to continue raiding and writing this blog.  In fact, I went ahead and apped to Coalition, the top Horde guild on my server and currently flip flopping with and Alliance guild for the number 1 spot overall.

Because of this, I downloaded some new mods, even picked up Clique, and I’m thinking of hitting a few PuGs, maybe some 10 man Naxx action in order to test it out.  I’ve also been chatting with Reyk about his plans for the future and during one of those conversations, the possibility of us starting our own guild was brought up.  However, the idea was not to start a 25 man guild, but a 10 man one.  One that was focused on hard modes and clearing out the latest content, but on a smaller scale, one more manageable.  And it makes me ponder as to whether or not this idea might start becoming a trend.

Anyone who’s been reading the latest news knows that Blizzard is currently expanding the Argent Tournament with a new instance, a coliseum type event.  This instance will create a 5, 10 and 25 man version with all three having a normal and heroic version with separate lockouts.  This is unprecedented, especially coupled with the fact that Blizzard will be removing a distinction between the badges received for the four raid side instances.  They will all drop Emblems of Triumph, which will then assumably be used to purchase new gear, possibly even some of the new tier pieces like you can do with 8.5 pieces.

So by doing 10 man versions, both normal and heroic, you can assumably gear yourself out to be better than the average 25 man normally geared player.  The only additional step up will be the final heroic mode of the 25 man version, with each class probably only receiving one or two BiS that can’t be looted elsewhere.  But the question is whether or not those final few pieces of gear are going to matter for enough people to sustain heavy raiding at the 25 man levels.  Since you get similar enough gear with a lot less of the hassle, why not simply join a ten man guild, which are much much easier to coordinate.

I won’t lie, I’m sure that some of that last paragraph is guided by a certain bitterness over losing half our raid force to the dreaded summer boss and being forced to disband.  But at the same time, I wonder how much being the best matters to me.  I mean, it does to some extent obviously or coming right out of the gate, I wouldn’t have apped to the top guild.  But the idea of forming a small guild with friends from rl and select, elite others while making a run at challenging content is still attractive to me.  I may not be garnering server firsts and topping the ilevel charts, but I’ll still be seeing what the end game has to offer and having a few laughs along the way.

All this leveling of the field though, making the loot similar for raids and all that, why shouldn’t the raiding force on servers begin to split into 25 man and 10 man die hard groups?  It’s become so easy now to simply PuG a raid, something that would have been unthinkable in BC, then why shouldn’t tight knight groups begin to form and eventually become regular raiding guilds, just on a smaller scale.  Everything is starting to just fall under the net description of “end game”, with no real distinction between what type of end game there is.  At least for me, I would be just as proud of a 10 man Yogg death as a 25 man one.

So where does that leave me?  Well, my app is still in to Coalition, so we’ll see how that blows over.   I’m just working on the Midsummer Fire Festival achievements and considering going back to school with heroics and Naxx in order to learn a new healing system with Clique.  Perhaps I’ll get into Coalition and you’ll see me posting about a server first Algalon kill in a couple of weeks (they’re getting really close to downing Mimi hard mode), or maybe in a few weeks you’ll see me announce the creation of my new guild with a member list and our first Ulduar 10 kills.  Either way, don’t worry about my recent silence, cause I will definitely be around.

And for those who are curious, here’s my current in progress UI, I’m nowhere near done with it yet though:

It'll get better

Set up for 10 man

-Dueg

7 Responses to “Is 25 Man Really Better?”


  1. 06/22/2009 at 1:58 PM

    Many a 25 man guild has been smote hard by the 25 man boss. It’s certainly claimed its share of BoO. 😦

  2. 06/22/2009 at 2:39 PM

    The UI is lookin’ good so for! I still have yet to set up a good one for my Priest. As for your guild app, I’d say good luck, but you’re too good of a healer for them NOT to take you!

  3. 3 Jov
    06/22/2009 at 3:21 PM

    The 3.2 changes definitely make 10-mans much more viable. As it stands currently, however, I find 10s as difficult (if not more so in some cases) than their 25 counterparts… and the gear that drops is ilvl’d lower than is reasonable for the lack of difficulty difference.

    Also, Summer Boss sucks. Bigger guild killer than Entropus.

    Good luck with your application, or whatever it is you finally decide.

  4. 06/22/2009 at 3:21 PM

    Why yes, that IS a nice shot of Thunder Bluff. :3
    ..Oh, yeah, and your UI is nice, too. ♥

  5. 5 Scrat!
    06/22/2009 at 4:11 PM

    Lets do this!!!!

    also, fix your UI, its all broke.

  6. 06/22/2009 at 4:15 PM

    ooohh shiny UI. nice!

    And just know that if you and Reyk do decide to start your own guild, I will be there to provide the warm comforting embrace of bubbles (because they save lives you know! :P) and Pew Pew LZRS if you are in need of bubble priest. And I kind of like the 10 mans better. Wiping on IC Hard was waaaaay more fun than powering through to General IMO.

  7. 05/02/2014 at 9:21 PM

    You actually make it seem really easy with your presentation but I to find this matter to be really something which I feel I’d by no means understand. It sort of feels too complicated and extremely vast for me. I’m looking ahead to your next put up, I’ll try to get the hang of it!


Leave a Reply

Posts with the Mosts

Tell me how awesome I am!

Beat the rush and send me an e-mail at: HolyDueg@gmail.com. It's good to have heroes.

