04
Aug
09

The Incredible Disappearing Dueg

Where did I go?  Nobody knows!  Oh wait, I do.  So yeah, if you’ve been coming and checking on me the last week and a half or so, you’ll see that for the first time since I started running this little sideshow, I went dark without a full explanation for multiple days at a time.  Oh loyal readership, I didn’t mean to hurt you!  You know I love you, baby.  C’mon, let’s sit down over here and chat and I’ll tell you all that’s been going on in my life.  I swear though, loyal readers, you’re the only ones for Dueg, all both of you.  Here, have some wine… that fizzing?  It’s, uh… fortified… with fortification.

No matter, let me dive right in to what I have to say.  No, Holy Dueg! is not coming to a close.  I love this blog and I love writing too much to simply let it go.  However, the place I’m volunteering at has stepped up my hours and there’s been some buzz that I may get hired on part time, which would be a fantastic boon to my hurtin’ bank account, to be sure.  Because of all this, I went in to work every day last week and logged some hours over the weekend doing some footwork as well.  I’ve also spent the last couple of weeks stripping and re-staining an old 1950’s era Redwood picnic table that Mrs Dueg got from her parent’s house in upstate NY.  Today is my first “day off” so to speak, but I still need to type up a report and send it in later in the day, I just so happen to be up early for mysterious and clandestine reasons, so I decided the time had come to break my silence.

And a lot has happened since I stopped making regular posts!  <revolver> is an actual guild now and we’ve even made a few forays into Naxx and have Ulduar 10 on notice.  We also have been making regular attempts at achievements for heroics, desperate to chase down the easiest to attain (relatively speaking) 310% mount, which is coming along nicely for a few of our members.  There’s also a little rumbling and we may be merging with a friend’s small guild in order to bolster our ranks and ensure more regular raids.  It’s all so very exciting!

Also, apparently there’s a big rigamaroo all about this patch numbered 3.2 which will be dropping on us very shortly.  Finally, I will have epic flight and will own the glorious skies as I was always meant to!  I still haven’t decided if I’m going to make the flying rug epic or just purchase a wyvern or something, but I know for sure that I will be working to get 150 of those crusader champion emblems so I can get me some epic dragonhawk action.  Don’t judge me.

I’m also looking forward to the new dungeon that’s coming as well as the raid, though I don’t think I’ll be able to hit up the new raid for at least another month without pugging it.  Lately since I’ve gone small scale as a player, I’ve been enjoying running heroics again in order to work either on achievements or simply in order to have something to do, so having a new one is already getting me excited to log in tonight.  Hopefully it’ll be cool enough to assuage my guilt from all those Crystalsong Oaks and sacred Ulduar relics that I destroyed.

What else, what else… oh yes, the Q & A.  The horrible, terrible, misguided Q & A.  I was speaking with good ol’ Tarty tart last night, who has an excellent analyses of the Q & A up at her site, btw, and we were in agreement about one pretty much major point of fact: Ghostcrawler doesn’t really “get it” as far as priests are concerned.  I think this stems from the simple fact that once upon a time Shadow Priests were OP, totally the shit, would literally melt your face.  In real life.  Right off your skull.  Straight Indiana Jones and the Raiders of the Lost Ark style.

Pictured: You

Pictured: You

Nowadays, not so much.  I mean, SPriests aren’t something to sneeze at and can definitely live near the top of the dps chart, but for some reason, GC seems to be under the impression that they’re comparable to mages and warlocks in terms of dps which is simply not true.  They’re situational at best with an inflexible rotation that thrives and excels in certain types of encounters, but will not deliver the goods in others.  Inevitably, however, it seems as though whenever the community cries out for more flexibility, allowing them to truly become comparable to the exclusive dps classes, we’re told that we’re just fine the way we are and we should learn to play better to get more efficient dps.

Also, for some reason, Blizzard seems to think that because other healing classes are not having mana issues, then we’re all doing fantastic.  This is simply untrue.  By nature, priests don’t get much of a chance to dance the five second rule.  With flash heals being fired off almost constantly couple with the encouragement to cast big heals through Serendipity, long fights are like poison for healing priests.  Let me make this clear right now: GHeal is an expensive and necessary spell.  In Ulduar, you cannot keep someone alive by simply spamming Flash Heals on them over and over.  They only crit up to 8k or so, which most Ulduar bosses can knock off a tank in one hit or less.  Yes, mana efficiency should be a necessary and closely monitored portion of every healer’s raiding experience.  But forcing us to pay attention to it by adding more stress to the situation of raid healing is kind of a dick move, imo.

Finally, I have three quick announcements.  One, the comics will continue, but I will try to begin posting a lot more frequently.  I already have a few post ideas banked and will be trying to add some new ones asap.  Also, Saturday RP will be concluding soon!  I already knew what direction the story was going in and was planning on ending it in about three more installments.  However, I’ve decided that instead I will combine the final chapters into a long wrap up post and hopefully have it out by this weekend.  This will not be the permanent end of Saturday RP, but I will be tying a ribbon the Forsaken Oracle story arc.

Finally, I would like to congratulate an old friend of mine, Ms Serae (that’s right, from the RP), who experienced her first raid ever a couple of weeks ago with <revolver>.  She’s come a long way since then, going from averaging 800 dps to averaging about 1900.  They grow up so fast.  Below is Serae and my flower picking DK Ayunn, back when they were in an alt guild we made on a different server.  Hopefully we’ll be getting her some Ulduar experience soon:

Very menacing!

Very menacing!

So that’s it for now!  Stay tuned for a new comic either later today or tomorrow and some fresh new RP in the next week!

-Dueg

3 Responses to “The Incredible Disappearing Dueg”


  1. 08/04/2009 at 10:42 AM

    Glad to hear you’re still alive and well, Dueg! I hope everything goes well for you at this place, and I hope you continue blogging soon. Until then, I look forward to whatever you’re posting! =)

  2. 2 Scrat!
    08/04/2009 at 7:08 PM

    yay! words again!

  3. 3 Zalgosh
    08/14/2009 at 8:48 AM

    “Blizzard seems to think that because other healing classes are not having mana issues”

    Pre 3.2, shamans were having serious mana issues. You had to stack as much mp5 as possible, plus you had to also waste GC to refresh your water shield.

    Although now, post 3.2, I’ve been putting on a lot of elemental gear because most fights my mana regen is great now (I hate when there’s no replenishment though).


Leave a Reply

Posts with the Mosts

Tell me how awesome I am!

Beat the rush and send me an e-mail at: HolyDueg@gmail.com. It's good to have heroes.

