27
Aug
09

An Enchanter’s Request

Me and my wicked step-enchanting trainer

Me and my wicked step-enchanting trainer

Hello, I’m an Enchanter.

As an enchanter, I remember back to the dawn of the game when we were still exploring the depths of what the profession had to offer.  Enchanting was a hard prospect to level way back when, barely a worthwhile profession until later levels.  Not to mention that disenchanting items instead of selling them in AH did put a hurt on my coffers.  But still I stuck with the profession, slowly getting better and better.  I remember in particular standing in Ironforge on Proto Dueg and whoring myself out for whatever people would pay me for my pitiful enchants.  Yes, it was a difficult life, but one I enjoyed and enthused about.

And I remember also thinking how well it fit with my priestly airs, especially the fact that I could make wands.  It felt right in line with the new feel I was getting for priests as a spell caster instead of plate wearing clerics.  I thought it especially cool and pertinent back then as it truly seemed like good wands were few and far between at the lower levels and this particular trade skill was able to deliver a very serviceable new one every few levels.  Though the graphic was simply a stick, it was still cool that it was made by me and I got a kick out of the fireball I could throw out.

Eventually though you were able to get better wands elsewhere and then there were simply no more new wand recipes for me to train in.  My heart shattered into a million wand shaped slivers.  But why does it have to be this way?  Why can’t we have wands anymore?  Why can’t we have any sort of personal benefit?  Look, enchanting fills a very nice niche roll in the game, adding benefits to raids and individual players that simply aren’t available from other trade skills.  But other than that there is no personal benefit to becoming an enchanter other than not having to look for someone to enchant your gear when you need it.  It’s truly one of the most altruistic of professions.

Tailoring has it’s embroideries, jewelcrafting has it’s trinkets and specialty gems and inscription has it’s oh so precious shoulder enchants to name a few, so why can’t enchanting have a little benefit on the side as well?  They don’t have to be the best wands in the game and they don’t have to be BoE, but something in addition to simple enchantment would be nice.  You took away our weapon buffing oils in Wrath, which I’m still bitter about, in case you couldn’t tell.  Now, however, with the new expansion being announced we have a chance to correct this finally!  Blizzard, I am humbly requesting that you give us back our wands!

No longer should the profession simply be about standing at the bank after a raid, at the whim of newly geared guild members looking for that extra push.  At the very least wands should be available to the leveling enchanter, enabling them to have a good, utilitarian style wand that can serve as filler until they start really raiding.  I mean, look, I get it.  You don’t want enchanting to be something that only spell casters pick up to compliment their tailoring.  But as it stands right now, a majority of enchanters are going to be casters anyways by virtue of the fact that since it doesn’t need a separate gathering, therefore it fits really well with a tailor.  You might as well give in and throw us a small and, quite frankly, small bone here to keep us coming back.

I also understand that being an enchanter makes us attractive to our raiding guilds or regular groups that we run with because all of a sudden it adds a depth of utility beyond the scope of just healing or dpsing.  That stuff is great.  However, so is Inscription and Tailoring and Jewelcrafting and all the other professions that bring bonuses or give unique armor that can be sold at whoppingly huge prices on the AH.  Yet once you leave Outland, enchanting really offers nothing beyond the benefit to your guild and the opportunity to make money on par with other professions or maybe even less if you have to purchase your materials to gain skill ups.  It’s kind of a thankless profession if you think about it that way.

What it comes down to is that enchanting should have a little incentive beyond just the capability to augment items and improve them.  Every benefit we’ve had beyond simply enchanting items has been taken away from us until we’ve become nothing more then enchant-o-machines, serving at the whim of guildies and the occasional Looking4Enchant in trade.  I don’t mind it, I mean, I’m awesome and I love to help people and all, but it never hurts to wet your beak a little, eh?  Blizzard, I think it’s time.  Give us back our wands.

-Dueg

12 Responses to “An Enchanter’s Request”


  1. 08/27/2009 at 8:04 AM

    Enchant Ring – Greater Spellpower.

    You want a profession that has no meaningful PVE bonuses? Look at Engineering.

  2. 08/27/2009 at 8:16 AM

    ack, I forgot about the enchant rings, but I don’t think that blows my whole argument out of the water.

    And I know that engineering has all sorts of problems.

  3. 08/27/2009 at 8:25 AM

    Yeah, I was going to point out rings too, but it still seems rather lackluster, doesn’t it?

  4. 4 Jack
    08/27/2009 at 8:58 AM

    One of my main characters is an enchanter. Only level 71, enchanting 415 . . . so maybe I’ve got room to discover some of the shortcomings, but for now I don’t see the lack of high end wands as a disincentive. Probably, mostly, because the character is a Druid which don’t use wands anyway. I’ve only ever made them as one of the few saleable items back when they still provided skillups . . . you know, they’re just like any other “enchant” from my perspective. Moreover, that second class category of enchants: those I only ever do as a service for others.

    But I have learned to love the profession for other reasons. I’ve started a few characters on servers other than my primary so I can play with family & friends and I’ve taken to always making two characters: the one I plan to play and a second, a DK, to pick up a gathering profession (either to help the primary character or just for cash) . . . and enchanting. The one benefit enchanters have over other professions is the ability to disenchant worthless crap that won’t sell in the AH (except to enchanters looking for cheap mats). Like “of the wolf” items or cheap crafted goods that were only made to skillup or (for the enchanter himself) souldbound items being replaced.

    I mean, the oils (while levelling, anyway) and the ring enchants are nice. But I think the biggest benefit of enchanting is the cost efficiency in enchanting your own gear and the ability to turn crap into something of value.

    So maybe players like me are why wands-as-a-focus-of-enchanting isn’t a big priority for Blizzard. None of my enchanters use wands. Most of them aren’t even spellcasters.

  5. 5 D
    08/27/2009 at 9:14 AM

    The ring enchants actually give us as much of a benefit as other professions.

    I forgot who did it and how, but there was a blogger that looked at each profession from a caster’s perspective. What they found was that almost every profession (other than engineering) added approximately 38 or 39 extra spellpower to the person with that profession. LWs had the 60-something fur lining for wrists (it was 38 or 39 spellpower over the highest level spellpower wrist enchant), JC had 3 JC-only gems that had more spellpower per gem which added up to approximately 38 or 39 more spellpower than 3 normal spellpower gems, etc. Enchanters, not surprisingly, got 38 extra spellpower because of the two ring enchants. (This was before the patch of course, I know the numbers are different now.) They even did the math for the Lightweave embroidery – for a caster dps, the proc rate and the extra damage it gave and all that equalled out to be right around, you guessed it, 38 or 39 extra spellpower.

    In short, enchanters had no less of a benefit, spellpower-wise, than other professions. I hated leveling that profession, but now that I am maxxed out, there’s no way I would drop it – I’m glad that I have a max level enchanter for my toons. It was expensive to level, but it’s saving me a ton of gold now that I have two max-level toons and more getting close.

  6. 6 Jack
    08/27/2009 at 9:32 AM

    Engineering as a PvE profession is awesome. I’ve only been playing for just over a year and a half, so I have to assume it got the reputation as lackluster from early years of the game . . . but I’ve played a Warrior engineer up to level 60ish, a DK engineer up to level 80 and just started a rogue engineer.

    Explosives are good for AoE threat when tanking, and are a not-insignificant dps boost to hit when other abilities are unavailable (due to energy or cooldown). Scopes & mechanical pets are decent money makers. From BC levels up, engineers can make themselves some awesome trinkets and firearms. At WotLK levels, you get one of the best cloak enhancements in the game and a decent boot enhancement. Hands down, though, the best reason to be an engineer? Goggles. My rogue has +8 stam headgear at a level (15) when you can’t find headgear period. Unless you’re going to do the twink, STV fishing thing. My tanks get epic quality headgear, on par with what you’d have to raid for, much earlier than non-engineers. And they’re stylish.

    On various characters I’ve maxed out Mining, Skinning, Cooking, First Aid and Engineering and levelled up Enchanting, Tailoring and Leatherworking to 400+. I’ve levelled up Fishing, Herbalism & Alchemy close to 300ish and just dabbled in the rest. Honestly, the profession that did the least for me was Alchemy. But probably just because I got bored with it and quit before I could make flasks.

    I guess what I’m saying is that in my experience, Blizzard is doing a good job balancing the value of the various professions. If anything, with all their fun toys (explosive bunnies, mailboxes, mote extractors, personal servants) and now an exclusive auction house, engineering is becoming even more attractive than the other professions.

  7. 08/27/2009 at 9:42 AM

    I was going to make some silly comment on your unnatural attraction to wands, especially since this isn’t the first post about them, but I don’t know you that well. :p

  8. 08/27/2009 at 10:27 AM

    I agree! The wands are awesome but few and far between even in game. I think I’m still using a naxx 10 wand because I haven’t been able to get an upgrade to drop.

    Anywho, I remember MMO datamining wands for enchanting just before wrath dropped but they never made it in game. It was a pretty sweet set up too. You made a base epic wand, and then you could get parts from raiding bosses to enchant the wand and upgrade it. I smell an epic win. Now if only blizz would put it in the game! 😀

  9. 9 Chad
    08/27/2009 at 12:20 PM

    @ Jack,
    engineer goggles are for engineers only. At level 80 Blacksmiths make better headgear, and anyone can wear it.

  10. 10 Jack
    08/27/2009 at 1:13 PM

    @Chad
    (1) Blacksmithed helms are only available to plate wearers
    (2) Engineers get epic helms starting at level 62
    (3) “Better” depends on the stats you want

  11. 11 Pugnacious Priest
    08/27/2009 at 8:59 PM

    Remembering the pain of leveling it as I leveled – Oh the agony! I don’t think I ever got my moneys worth out of it ( escpecially with peoples reluctant to tip, but I feel smug in the knowledge that Jewel crafters are also going through pain to level /get all the Gem cuttings as I hear now In chat “Lf person to cut Blah.. more then Looking for enchanter.

  12. 08/29/2009 at 9:34 AM

    Wands would be nice, my Priest is still rocking the H AN wand!


Leave a Reply

Posts with the Mosts

Tell me how awesome I am!

Beat the rush and send me an e-mail at: HolyDueg@gmail.com. It's good to have heroes.

