31
Dec
09

The Only Difference that I See is You are Exactly the Same as You used to be

So, after about 2 or 3 months with almost no WoW contact whatsoever, I have participated in what can only be described as a blitz of playing for the past few days.  New gear, instances, and group finder have definitely helped to put the shine back on the apple for me.  Mixed with a heaping helping of shadow priest action and bolstered by the constant influx of emblems, I can certainly say that I’m picking up right where I left off.

But there’s still something different, something wholly new about the game even though I’m feeling almost like I never left.  Anyone who’s played in the last couple of weeks is aware of the sweeping changes brought on by 3.3 beyond simply adding a few new dungeons.  The major change, and one blogged about ad nauseum at this point, is the new group finder tool.  But what I think people have overlooked is that fact that this one simple change has truly evolved the way we play this game.

Of course WoW has gone through major shifts and changes before.  The coming of the Burning Crusade changed up how people looked at gear and their stats while Wrath made raiding more accessible to the common player, for example.  But at the end of the day, people’s day to day play time didn’t change too much except to incorporate new spells and hash out better rotations.  3.3 has changed that.

Now when I was leveling Dueg from a wee baby priest to the mighty mountain of manliness that he is today, I did a lot of grouping.  This process involved researching what items dropped from what dungeon and then sitting in the old lfg tool all night while questing and hoping beyond hope that someone, anyone, else was also hoping to run that lower level dungeon.  Now, this was back when Burning Crusade was still just a few months old, so I was able to usually get at least one dungeon in a night.  But even though my evenings are still filled with dungeon diving, it’s all different.

Running dungeons has become almost a background activity for me now.  I don’t have to actively check the lfg tool, see if anyone else is looking and maybe too lazy to send whispers.  I don’t have to beg and cajole my friends or spend an hour searching for a tank while the other three members play musical chairs.  I don’t have to fly to a dungeon and stand outside while I wait thirty minutes for one other person to be considerate enough to fly to the meeting stone.  I don’t have to use meeting stones anymore.  No, now it’s click, forget, and when your number comes up, click ready and there you are.  Convenience.

It’s also upped the number of dungeons that I run in an evening.  Used to be that I’d get two in, max, now I’m up to four a five a night depending on how fast I’m selected for groups.  This is spurred on by my desperate greed for more badges and all, but still, I now have the patience to put up with multiple randies and not go ape shit from sheer frustration.  I also contribute that to the lack of buffoons in my group, with only two or three sour runs in my short stint back.

But I also wonder how much this has changed other people’s playing styles.  Anea was recently talking on her blog about how her play style has changed somewhat since the dungeon finder came out, what with going from almost exclusively questing while leveling to running multiple dungeons per day.  I’m sure she’s not alone in this and that a lot of people have begun to do so whether for the convenience of it or simply because they want better items.

So tell me, gentle jerkwads (and I know there probably aren’t too many of you left at this point), are things different for you?  Did you even notice the new lfg tool, or are you all pvp all the time?  Drop me a comment and let me know.  Also let me know what you think of the new layout.  I figured that since I’m going to be going shadow full time for the time being, I’d change things up a little bit to match the mood.

-Dueg

13 Responses to “The Only Difference that I See is You are Exactly the Same as You used to be”


  1. 12/31/2009 at 11:05 AM

    It’s changed how I level my lowbies. I can be even MORE of an altaholic right now. My neglected shaman has gained 5 levels in two days mostly running dungeons-I swapped her from enh to ele so that I could more easily lol-eleheal instances.

    \o/

    Because I need more than 4 80s, right…?

  2. 12/31/2009 at 11:11 AM

    Haha. I created a new rogue JUST to level through dungeons. Plus, you know, running RFC at level on an Alliance toon = pure win.

    ALL of my alts have been doing nothing but running dungeons. I might quest a bit while waiting for a group to be assembled…since all I do is dps sometimes it takes 20 mins. My 52 spriest ran BRD the other night where the group makeup was a healy priest, a pally tank, and 3 spriests. Good times!

    Oh, and welcome back. Looking forward to you posting again.

  3. 3 Juzaba
    12/31/2009 at 12:01 PM

    Yeah, I try to log into my warlock alt project for at least one dungeon run a night. And if you thought heroics were “fly by the seat of your pants” style, boy will you be surprised. People run Scarlet Monastery like it’s one big pull. I’m pretty sure we lose points if we ever fall out of combat. It’s ridiculous.

  4. 4 Kurat
    12/31/2009 at 1:32 PM

    Hey!re-welcome back. And yes, I’m levelling my dk only by doing instances. I miss the healing Dueg, my main is a discipline priest, but maybe I learn something about shadow.

    But If nowadays WOW is only instance based, what about the huge outside world? Cataclysm will be the next swing towards exploration and discovering (maybe by archeology skill?) ‘coz today is quite disappointing for an explorer like me to have only 1500exp points for each new area discovered.

  5. 12/31/2009 at 2:37 PM

    A lot of my toons don’t even leave town now. Log in, queue for dungeons or pvp, run and repeat, relog on different too, run and repeat.

    Screw questing until Cat is released.

  6. 12/31/2009 at 4:01 PM

    The new LFG tool has completely changed the way I play the game. I’m leveling a priest and it has been almost exclusively through running instances. I never PUG’d before in my life. I was terrified of the whole thing. But now I’m having a blast and I might actually have a clue about how to heal properly when I hit 80.

  7. 7 Scrat!
    12/31/2009 at 5:06 PM

    This place got dark.

    I’d say the only thing that’s changed for me is the level of disconnection I have with the other players of the game.

    I guess that’s ok, but lately, it doesn’t really feel like an MMO unless I’m playing with my friends. I’ve used the dungeon finder before where, literally, no one said anything to anyone the whole run. It went smoothly and we disbanded at the end. Not a word. Felt like a single player experience.

    EQ always felt like an MMO.

    The wallflowers suck balls.

  8. 01/01/2010 at 1:40 PM

    I was quite surprised to see the change of layout, but you’re right – it DOES match the new (darker) shadowy you!

    As you read, I’d been running dungeons on my DK as a tank, but I missed healing! I rolled a baby shaman specifically to heal and see the lower level instances at level. It’s ridiculously awesome how much experience she gets just running them and turning in instance quests, with a few regular quests put in here or there – eight levels in two days and she’s sitting at 28.

    I’m silently lamenting how much I’m skipping, quest-wise, but the LFG tool is totally the way to go 🙂

  9. 9 Tracey
    01/05/2010 at 8:54 AM

    ‘Cause you asked so nicely…

    If I didn’t read blogs, I wouldn’t even know about the new LFG. My spouse and I play just like we always have — together, questing. Weird, I know. But there ya have it — a bit of the other side, perhaps.


Leave a Reply

Posts with the Mosts

Tell me how awesome I am!

Beat the rush and send me an e-mail at: HolyDueg@gmail.com. It's good to have heroes.

