31
Mar
09

A Sense of Entitlement

Because I haven't talked about it enough

Because I haven't talked about it enough

So last night I logged on and started running around, taking care of some errands on Dueg, when I did something I’ve never done before.  I changed my settings to see my own name.  I know, vanity, thy name is Dueg, but I was still feeling some pride, so I wanted to see what it looked like.  As you can see, it appears as though someone has dropped a sack of letters all over me.  I’m sorta glad I don’t have to see that all the time actually.

I’m sure I’ll wear this title for about a week or so and then go back to being Elder Duegathalas, because I like the look of it.  What I keep meaning to work my way to though is the Ambassador title.  Just look at it: Ambassador Duegathalas.  Fucking gorgeous.  Anyhoo, my point is that our reasons for having titles and choosing which one is on display are legion.  Some will say that it’s all about customization and being that much more unique with their chars and I can certainly understand that draw myself.

I’m old school in the sense that I used to play Everquest way back when and I remember one of the greatest feelings was when you hit level 20 you got to type in /surname and enter a new last name for your character.  For some of my characters, this process was easy (such as my main, Confooshus Say) and for others it was a process (my cleric, Justarius Souldeceiver, took a bit of thinking), but the point of it was the customization of it.  The fact that it gave you that little extra bit of a sense of “this is my character” was one so enticing that I still long for it when one of my WoW chars dings 20.

The thing about the title system though is that it also gives you this feeling, only to a much lesser degree in the sense that there’s almost no entirely unique titles.  A very few, select people have unique ones for various accomplishments or whatnot, but generally titles are going to be available to the WoW community en masse.  So what is it that draws us to one particular title over others even though we know that half the server could have it tomorrow?

Well, for some people, there is no draw, they just want title after title after title because they see it as something to do in game.  It gives them a sense of accomplishment to open up their character and scroll through the 20 or so titles available to them while they giggle with childish glee.  They’ll choose whatever title suits their current mood without much thought and that title may sit over their head for weeks and weeks or get changed out every time they log in.  Others still are more like innocent bystanders, running around, doing achievements for whatever reason or fighting a particular boss and all of a sudden they’re immortal, or a diplomat or whatever.

Then there’s the RP draw of it.  Even on regular servers there are people who connect with their characters to the point that they begin to breathe a certain personality into them.  People who have never RPed before can still occasionally see their character as someone with wants and needs and goals even if it’s just a projection of themselves into the avatar.  Because of this you sometimes just see the title as just fitting on your character and will happily put the title up and leave it there forever.

For some though there’s usually a particular title that their shooting for, one that they’ve had their eye on or stumbled across and love the way it sounds.  I was never a title seeker till I found out I could be Elder Duegathalas, then you better believe I was running around all the continents like a crazy man, shaking my walker at all the kids.  For me it was purely an exercise in vanity.  I was only half interested in the lore and all that jazz and didn’t really want to run any instance in the new or old content, but I wanted those five extra letters in front of my name.  In this sense, the achievements system accomplished what it was implemented for and gave me a reason to log in and play my level 80 in between raiding.

Some people even go so far as to plan their character’s actual names to match up with titles they’re planning on getting.  Usually as jokes,  but sometimes with a thought to how it will actually sound.  You can even tell what era a character is from based on their titles since certain ones such as the military ranks and past one time event titles are no longer available.  There’s even the “I’m better than you” titles with two new ones for server firsts coming in the next patch to go along with the current uber difficult ones of The Immortal and The Undying.

So now I ask you, what do you look for in titles?  Is it all about aesthetics for you or are you simply an achievement hunter who thirsts for the ding of that little box popping up at the bottom of your screen?  Maybe there’s one particular title that you’ve been slowly meandering towards forever (ah, Champion of the Frozen Waste, you shall be Dueg’s someday) or maybe you had a particular one within a week of being 80 just like you always planned.  Or perhaps you’re one of the humble few who refuses to wear a title, satisfied with the fact that you’re just you.

Oh, and a quick congratulations on the newest member to the Title Club: Ms. Cadistra Jenkins, may she always have chicken.

-Dueg


13 Responses to “A Sense of Entitlement”


  1. 03/31/2009 at 9:20 AM

    Hmm, I honestly don’t care that much for titles. I have the Twilight Vanquisher as well but I don’t show it. I rather run around only showing my own name 😛

  2. 03/31/2009 at 9:22 AM

    When I first got Champion of the Frozen Wastes, there were only about four or five other guilds on my server who’d downed Malygos, and only a couple of them were Hordeside. And most of the Hordeside ones were mega uber raid guilds who still had their Champion of the Naaru/Hand of A’dal titles up, so CotFW was actually not seen that often.

    I trotted that shit around like it was a damn Gucci handbag.

    Unfortunately, when all those other high pop servers started getting queues out the wazoo, Sentinels became a really popular transfer destination for some high-end raiding guilds, so a lot of Champions suddenly materialized out of nowhere. I’ve considered taking it down, but I have no other good title to put up. :/

  3. 03/31/2009 at 9:23 AM

    Awwwww Dueg! o~_~o
    While I love my new Jenkins title, the #1 title I’m going for, for everything to RP reasons, and because I think it just looks sweet, is ‘Guardian of Cenarius.’

    Cadistra, Guardian of Cenarius. Mmmmm…..

    Considering she’s a devout follower of the Cenarion Circle, I think the title would suit her very well. With that being said, time to go kill some naga….

  4. 03/31/2009 at 9:26 AM

    Nothing says “I’ve played WoW too long” like running around as Coporal Ambrosyne. It also has an undertone of “I can’t PvP worth a damn.”

    She’ll get the Argent title one day when I’m not being lazy and/or priest obsessed. She somehow never got Exalted with the Argent Dawn (?!).

    Lyr has yet to achieve any title, and I can’t think of any offhand that suits her.

  5. 03/31/2009 at 9:31 AM

    As an RPer, titles hold a certain level of esteem in my eyes. Trudging my way through old world quests in search of the Loremaster title, I’ve recently achieved Arrens the Seeker after having completed 3000 quests. I’m rather fond of it.

    But I do use all my titles for one reason or another, usually in the form of a /say macro when someone calls my character “sir”. Despite the potential for someone claiming I’m shoving my epeen in their face by listing them all in a single macro, it seems to be a big hit with the other roleplayers I run with. Go figure.

  6. 03/31/2009 at 9:44 AM

    My tauren druid (and I still play it often) has Stone Guard. It’s hilarious when people ask where you get that title. My usual response is “you had to have been there” (of course, that’s when PvP really REALLY sucked and everyone wanted to be Rank 13… or was it 14… I can’t remember).

    I don’t RP. Our guild has a few titles that we all share. But personally, I like having the Hallowed. 🙂 When I don’t like that… I’ll just go with no title. Or I’ll slap on Undying.

  7. 7 Chibikeni
    03/31/2009 at 10:05 AM

    Why you sonnuva…that title just LoL’ed me through. XD

    The only title I have is the ‘Champion of the Naaru’ for my warrior main. Probably going for ‘Chef’ if I have the time =S Which also reminds me.I’m still Honored with all the major factions…..time to farm Runecloths =.=”

  8. 03/31/2009 at 10:13 AM

    One of the things I miss about EQ is the ability to pick a surname. I loved my dirge’s name: Fflewr Du’Mal.

  9. 9 Scrat!
    03/31/2009 at 10:58 AM

    I hate you and your title Dueg, I haven’t been logging in to avoid the gloating. OH THE GLOATING THERE WILL BE!!!

    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAUUUUUUGHHHHHHHHH!

  10. 10 Tigerfeet
    03/31/2009 at 11:11 AM

    Where’s the *all of the above* option?

    My very favorite title is Sergent. I’m ridiculously proud of being Sergent Tigerfeet, even if it’s not that high a title, I was only lvl 18 when AQ opened and you better believe I busted my butt to get to Sergent.

    Along the same lines, Elder is my second favorite just for the sole reason that I WAS THERE when AQ was opened on my original server. I helped with the war effort (on my hunter before I re-rolled horde) and I corpse-ran all the way out to Silithus (dinging from 17 to 18) along the way to watch when the gates were opened. It’s for this same reason that when the barber shops opened I switched my horns from a stylish femme buffalo look to a more rugged snapped pair.

    Right now though, if you saw me, you would see running around Tigerfeet the Undying. That one is just pure e-peen stroking. I’m sure I’ll be back to either Elder or Sergent in time.

  11. 11 Anea
    03/31/2009 at 1:59 PM

    The first title I ever got was Champion of the Naaru. It was a big deal to me to get that title, not only because it meant something to Anea, but because then I would finally have a title. The second one I got was Bloodsail Admiral, but that one really didn’t hold any meaning to me other than I did it before Wrath came out. Meh.

    The only one that came out later that I really wanted to get was Elder – I made sure to get that done (even if it was a little last-minute). I’m wearing that now. Not only does it mean something to Anea, but it’s short and sweet (and no one barfed alphabet soup on my head.)

  12. 03/31/2009 at 2:37 PM

    I don’t have many on my current priest because she’s the alliance character I picked back up after coming back to WoW. She had never done any BC raiding or pvp. But I do have Twilight Vanquisher so I’m wearing it right now. It’s much shorter than CotFW.

    However I would have the old pvp titles on my original horde characters, but unfortunately I have no desire to play them any more.

  13. 13 Priestgiblet
    04/02/2009 at 10:14 AM

    I’m partial to Elder, I think it looks good with my name “Elder Priestgiblet” and I don’t see it being changed anytime soon.


Leave a comment


Tell me how awesome I am!

Beat the rush and send me an e-mail at: HolyDueg@gmail.com. It's good to have heroes.