23
Mar
09

The Straw that Broke Dueg’s Back

Let me start this post by saying that I like to consider myself a nice guy.  I try to see things from other people’s point of view and generally don’t let jackassery get to me.  If you’re being an a-hole, you’re more likely to see me walking away then you are to see me getting upset because, quite frankly, I don’t want to be upset.  The last time I got truly screaming and shouting red in the face angry with someone was about five or six years ago and I had to go lay down afterwards because I got a stomach ache from it.

I also try to be somewhat loyal in the sense that if I give you a commitment I’m going to try my hardest to fulfill it.  This facet of my personality fits in the game in the sense that if I join a group, I’m probably not going to be the first to leave it if things get frustrating.  I will stay in shitty groups because in general, people don’t join groups to dick around and if we’re not accomplishing our goal, it’s not through lack of trying.  Some people will drop after a couple of wipes assuming that the rest of the group are morons and can’t get it done, so they just give up.  Others have a specific goal and once it’s accomplished, or they see that they may not get it accomplished, they’re gone.  These people are what I commonly refer to as “jack offs,” but, to each their own.

But this doesn’t mean that I never get mad or frustrated with the game or people in it.  Quite the opposite, little annoyances pop up on a daily basis, constantly trying my fraying patience.  I just do my best to take them in stride and enjoy the game as best I can without letting that sort of thing get to me.  However, it’s not always so easy to ignore the little things when they start to become bigger things.  So let me relate you the story of the one time that a group truly broke me.

I leveled Dueg with an eye for healing instances.  I wanted to do all the old world instances up until level 58 when I abandoned them for Outland.  This was a few months after BC came out and was before they adjusted the exp totals for 20 to 60, so dungeons were still the quickest way to level at that point.  As a healer, I pretty much had no problems whatsoever finding a group for instances.  Times were good, I danced the Charleston on top of flag poles and flappers smoked cigarettes out of long thin tubes.  Then came Uldaman.

Now anyone who’s ever been to Uldaman probably nodded to themselves with a knowing smile just know.  For anyone who’s never been there, I offer you two words of advice:  don’t go.  It’s honestly one of the worst plotted out dungeons in the whole of the game.  Originally designed that the front half would be done in the late thirties/early forties levels and the back half late forties/early fifties, the dungeon itself is just a mess of caverns and dead ends.  Even when they readjusted the levels so that it evened out, the place was still a maze and generally considered the worst instance in the game.  I had gone on Proto Dueg once and the only reason I wanted to go this time was to be able to say that i had done all the instances up to Outlands.

So I find a group composed of a warrior tank, two mages, a rogue and myself and we make the run through the iron dwarves till we get to the entrance.  Once inside, things go smoothly for a while till we come to the first boss.  One of the mages has the staff so we can summon the maiden and he does so.  During the fight the rogue pulls aggro three times, finally dying the third time when I just couldn’t keep him up.  Turns out the tank is new to Prot spec, previously being arms/fury for leveling and had just switched.  He wasn’t aware that you had to continuously taunt and thought one at the beginning of the fight was good enough.  I begin to have my doubts.

However, we got through the first boss a-ok except for the death and we get the loot, a tank ring or something like that.  One of the mages, however, ninjas the item and DCs at this point.  We’re all confused as to why he would ninja some crap blue ring that he can’t even use.  Whatever though, no one int he group really wanted it, so we figured he’s more than welcome to it.  So we move further in, looking for someone else, but not holding our breath as Uldamanwas very unpopular.  The group is just awful, damage is all over the place, no one seems able to focus on single mobs, pandemonium reigns supreme and we wipe a couple of times before finally the rogue asks us to help summon the enchanting teacher mob hidden in the instance.

So we clear to the mob, summon her out, the rogue takes care of some training and then promptly disconnects.  My urge to kill at this point begins to rise.  Whatever, we figure we’ll just keep going and if we can’t get someone new for the final boss we’ll just drop out.  At this point the final mage decides we’re going too slow for his tastes and begins to starts pulling mobs for the tank without informing us that they’re incoming.  After a couple of these, I tell him to please let the tank pull because it’s putting an unnecessary strain on me and my mana when I have to heal him up from almost dead on every pull.  “Quit being a pussy, I’m trying to get us through this,” comes his oh so classy answer.

This is when I turn into the most rarest of beasts, the Mad Panda:

DUEG SMASH!

DUEG SMASH!

So I send a whisper to the tank saying sorry for what’s about to happen, which he responds to with a “?”.  On the next mage pull I immediately drop group and hearth out, placing the mage on ignore.  The tank doesn’t respond after that and I go on my merry way, feeling vindicated that I totally let the mage die, but feeling a little bad for the tank.  Either way, glad to be done with the group.

So I ask you, gentle jerkwads, what’s the worst crap you’ve had to put up with dungeons?  Do you even put up with that sort of stuff or is your tolerance for morons so low that you would’ve been out of there a lot sooner?  Drop me a comment and let me know!

-Dueg


10 Responses to “The Straw that Broke Dueg’s Back”


  1. 03/23/2009 at 9:38 AM

    Wow. You should be playing a Beastmaster.

    I think the worst time I had in a dungeon was when the healer was being a bitch, actually. He was trash talking everyone in the instance.

    At one point, I had enough. Told everyone else to get ready to run.

    Misdirected the screwball. He was paste. The reatind took over healing, and we beat the pull.

    He left shortly afterwards.

  2. 03/23/2009 at 9:41 AM

    Worst crap I’ve put up with is probably running Naxx-10 with my former guild, and the little gear-whore wants-to-top-the-DPS-charts punk of a mage we ran with who would routinely take aggro right off the bat on the fights, leaving me trying to pull the mob back to me while he iceblocked.

    I’m usually pretty mellow in a instance/raid environment, but he would get me so steamed that I lost track of the number of times that I snarled at him that the next mob he pulled, HE was tanking.

    Sadly, I never did make him tank one, though I think I would have enjoyed watching him try…

  3. 3 Jack
    03/23/2009 at 11:50 AM

    Tanking Mana Tombs on my level 63 Frost DK, the level 69 mage along in the group whispers me after the first couple fights that I should Death and Decay every pull to help hold aggro.

    Now, I wasn’t losing aggro. I was holding it just fine using much more rune efficient Howling Blasts. Not that I have anything against Death & Decay. I do use it when a pull goes to pot and I don’t have time to set up a good Howling Blast crit. I just don’t use it every pull and that offended Mr. Mage.

    When I told him that I wasn’t going to use it every pull he responded something along the lines of, “Oh well, this is just an alt and my main is a level 80 DK that I tank heroics with . . . what do I know?”

    Look, I don’t know what you know, I don’t care what you know. I know Howling Blast is efficient, it’s working and I don’t see any reason to change my method on the fly to satisfy your urge to be right.

    But every pull from that point on, he would frostbolt one of the targets before I was done marking and start blizzard/frost nova right away. Presumably trying to prove that I “needed” Death & Decay. As if a level 69 Mage trying to pull aggro off a level 63 tank would be all that hard to accomplish. I was actually pleased as punch that most pulls I could win aggro back off him before the frost nova roots broke. Using Howling Blasts. Which didn’t stop him from going on and on about his l33t mage-tank skills. Never mind that he’d take a few hits from the mob he pulled while the other four pounded on me. I guess taking it on the chin from mobs only five levels lower than you is a big deal for a mage.

    I should have just let him die.

    Instead, he probably thinks he proved his point because, sure enough, several pulls went south and I did end up using Death and Decay a few times.

    I’ll just take pride in the fact that the one time he was left alone to his “l33t mage tank skills” . . . the time he pulled a side group after I’d already rounded a corner and I didn’t notice the pull until the I saw “dead” next to the healer’s portrait . . . that was the only time he wiped the party. The only time any of us died, in fact.

  4. 03/23/2009 at 1:16 PM

    Good question… I’m this kind of person that won’t easily yell, get angry,… I think I stay pretty calm in situations that even annoy the hell out of me. I’ll just *sigh* and go on, and once it’s over I’m happy.
    Biggest crap recently has been an achievements run where the tank refused to do achievements… Or people thinking they’re all that and not showing up for raids for some stupid reason (25men that is then). But generally I just try my best healing, if they start bitching on me I tend to ignore it and keep on healing… Automatic pilot ^^

  5. 03/23/2009 at 1:36 PM

    I got kicked out of a Steam Vaults group once because I couldn’t banish two elementals at once. Clearly, I fail at warlocking. QQ.

  6. 6 Anea
    03/23/2009 at 2:56 PM

    I usually am pretty quiet in groups, even ones that are going badly. I always do try to stay as well, if others stay. Plus, it would look bad on Anea if I abandoned groups willy nilly just ’cause one of the members is an ass. (Which sadly does happen often.) I’ll just sigh and keep healing and hope that we can move through fairly soon.

    I’ve had my fair share of frustrating groups, of course – the usual antics. However, one that I absolutely hated was one time I pugged a run without Lus to get a drop for whatever thing I wanted from Shadow Labs. The tank would pull fifty-billion things and exhaust all my mana, then run and do the next pull, while I’m still trying to drink. There was a close call and a wipe really soon after we started and I get bitched at. “Where were the heals, priest?”

    At that point, the stupidity and neglect to use my name made me want to quit right then and there, but using the Discipline side of me, I took a deep breath before I calmly typed, “You need to let me drink after every pull if you’re going to pull so many mobs like that. It takes a lot of mana to heal all the damage you’re putting the group through.”

    “Whatever.”

    I was still a fledgling priest at that point, still learning my place as a healer and I was trying my hardest to keep up and being worried about “not doin it rite” so I was way stressed out.

    Damn warrior >.>

  7. 7 pugnaciouspriest
    03/23/2009 at 9:33 PM

    When healing, I’ve done the you – will listen to me, or I will let you die, and then just not heal the person.

    As the healer you have a much of a powerful position as the tank. You both are a cornerstones of a 5 man. 3 dps are a ‘dime a dollar’

    A listen to me or I will replace you /let you die/ leave the instance and goodluck finding another healer should have been powerful enough to get him to stop.

    He dismissed you, undermined the tanks ability to judge what to pull, and treated you like a healbot.

    I probably would have done the – he goes or me…
    eitherway the issue is solved. The torture is over

  8. 8 Chibikeni
    03/24/2009 at 4:19 AM

    Shadow Labs always seem to be top on my ‘unfavourable instances to go to’. Not to mention the boss that does mass Mind Controls and the aggro drops resets like zilch once we’re back in control. 2 so-called melee l33t DPSers keeps topping my aggro while I’m trying to get the boss focused on me, wasn’t my fault if the boss charges at you =S So I’ll let this one slide.

    Then there’s Murmur, good old Murmur with his Sonic Boom and Murmur’s Touch. The 2 melees doesn’t get the clue about backing off when there’s the Sonic Boom emote coming, they still whack their DeePeeS butts off on Murmur until they died within the ring >.>

  9. 03/24/2009 at 1:46 PM

    I got kicked out of a BFD group way back when because my Mad Mario Skillz weren’t there and I couldn’t make the first few jumps across the ruined bridge-thingie.

    And I got dumped in Uldaman. Stupid Uldaman. Your Indiana Jones awesomeness does not compensate for your generally high level of suckery and failness.

    Dumped!

  10. 03/25/2009 at 6:11 PM

    I was in a Violet Hold run with my tankadin friend. Our dps was fine but our disc priest was special. To begin with, when I asked him if he’d like to heal he answered “Sorry, I’m disc.” I probably shouldn’t have took him after seeing this, but there wern’t any other healers around. So this priest, thinks it’s absolutely brilliant to spam Prayer of Healing. The tank has a debuff and is dropping and all he is doing is spamming Prayer of Healing. Everyone else in the group is at full. health.

    People asked him why he’s using Prayer of Healing and he replied. “Because it only heals one person.” Seriously?!


Leave a comment


Tell me how awesome I am!

Beat the rush and send me an e-mail at: HolyDueg@gmail.com. It's good to have heroes.